Old 09 February 2015, 23:35   #1

Anchor/mooring questions

Hello all,

I am the very happy new owner of a 2011 18' Nautica Widebody. Maiden voyage was in 8 to 10 foot seas with quite a bit of chop....any question I've ever had as to the performance and sheer capability of a RIB were immediately answered. I was blown away, quite frankly. Anyway....you'll all forgive the praise, she is my first.

So....to my question...going to be diving and spear-fishing off the boat. Looking for some guidance on anchor/chain/rode length, etc etc. Depths will likely be 30-50ft range, conditions will vary. Bow locker is spacious. Anchor will be attached at the tow point on the bow...I think?? Grabbing a Mooring??

The nautica has very nice aft cleats, none on the bow. Very stout tow point (hull) as well as lift hook (in the bow).

Forgive the newbie questions....my excuse is only that I'm a newbie

Thank you all!!

Berti Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1423528526.656407.jpg
Views:	330
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	102845Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByRIB Net1423528552.636707.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	102846
Old 10 February 2015, 08:31   #2

Town: Daventry & Beaulieu
Boat name: Tigga2
Make: Ribcraft 4.8
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
MMSI: 235900806
RIBase
Four times depth if all chain, six times depth if chain to start with then warp.
chris.moody is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2015, 13:56   #3

Town: Arlington
Boat name: Clear Cut
Make: Polaris
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, petrol,150
This works for me for diving:

A GOOD anchor that works well in the bottom conditions you will likely encounter diving.

A boat length of heavy chain on the anchor.

Sufficient rode (rope) for a 3:1 to 6:1 scope, depending on conditions.

My current setup: A Rocna anchor, 20 ft of chain and 150 feet of rode (Nylon three strand). Shackle bolts are secured with Monel wire or tie wraps.