Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 October 2011, 03:23   #1
Member
 
Country: Germany
Town: StPetersburg Russia
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: OSPREY Vipermax 7m
Length: 7m +
Engine: ETEC G2 250 H.O.
MMSI: 211579640
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 397
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Bushrider
Yamaha Speedo gauge - signal ??

Good morning ,
Can anybody advice where the digital Yamaha Speedo gauge take the speed signal from ?
How accurate the speed is displayed ?
On the Yamaha.com / marine section I found something about a speedo kit but nothing at all somewhere in the net how it works or looks like ..
Do not want to install this big gauge just for voltage , fuel level etc
If I decide to go for it I expect everything to work ..

Thanks in advance !

Regards - Jürgen
__________________

__________________
Bushrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 03:53   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
There's a small hole in the leading edge of the lower unit. That hole is connected to a clear plastic tube that runs up to the speedo. As you move forward, the water gets forced into the hole, pressurizing the air in the tube. The speedo converts that pressure to speed.

I find it's generally accurate to within a few MPH as long as the hole doesn't get plugged (it often does, with the result that I rarely look at it.)

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 04:49   #3
Member
 
Country: Germany
Town: StPetersburg Russia
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: OSPREY Vipermax 7m
Length: 7m +
Engine: ETEC G2 250 H.O.
MMSI: 211579640
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 397
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Bushrider
Hi ,
Thanx for quick respond !
Just been out ( its raining cats and dogs here .. ) and made a pic from the lower case . There is indeed a little opening exactly where the lower / upper unit are connected .
There is also a black hose - which I thought when I changed the impeller some time ago - is the breather for the lower case .
Am I wrong ?

regards - Jürgen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	yam 2 (1).jpg
Views:	85
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	63107   Click image for larger version

Name:	yam 2 (2).jpg
Views:	101
Size:	98.9 KB
ID:	63108  
__________________
Bushrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2011, 06:50   #4
Member
 
Country: Germany
Town: StPetersburg Russia
Boat name: Black Hawk
Make: OSPREY Vipermax 7m
Length: 7m +
Engine: ETEC G2 250 H.O.
MMSI: 211579640
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 397
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Bushrider
Guys - thanks - all sorted out ..
I found the water inlet for the speed . It is a tiny hole which was completely plugged ...

Cheers - Jürgen
__________________
Bushrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.