Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 May 2008, 07:52   #1
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Den Bosch
Length: no boat
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
Yamaha F225 ('06) and Lowrance 7200c

Hi guys,

I recently ordered a new Lowrance 7200c. I have the network gauges on my Yamaha F225 installed.
I have some questions about connecting the Lowrance using NMEA2000:

- If I use the Lowrance interfacecable for the engine, what information can be displayed on the Lowrance ?
- Is there a possiblity to use the fuel management on the Lowrance using the interface cable, or do I need other parts?
I have no fuel level senders in the tanks, so I hope, based on fuel flow, Lowrance can calculate 'fuel left'.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
mvervoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 09:04   #2
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Den Bosch
Length: no boat
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
I found some info regarding the cable:
http://www.jackrabbitmarine.com/Detail.bok?no=3692

Seems to display all info, but I'm not sure total ltrs can be set.
__________________

__________________
mvervoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 09:36   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
NMEA 2000 Yamaha Engines output the following standard data:
Engine RPM
Boost Pressure
Engine Trim: 2006 and later
Oil Pressure
Engine Temp: 2006 and later
Alternator Voltage
Fuel Rate
Hours Used
Water Pressure
Fuel Economy (Needs speed source on network - your GM7200 GPS will provide this)
Some Diagnostics.

Instant fuel data such as Fuel Rate and Economy will be available with just the interface cable but you'll need a memory module if you want to add historical calculation such as Fuel Used and Range. This is also required for Fuel Remaining which is an option once your tank size is provided and you remember to enter any fuel added.

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 09:55   #4
Member
 
Country: Netherlands
Town: Den Bosch
Length: no boat
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 15
TT,

Thanks for the information! The memorymodule is a Lowrance product?
__________________
mvervoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 May 2008, 16:04   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
You need a processor on the network to handle accumulated data and unlike the Suzuki interface cable which has an inline 'insect' both Yamaha and Evinrude don't. Lowrance produce a memory module which they actually call a 'storage device' EP-85R (or EP-50 Blue). It would seem that this part is only available to OEM's probably the engine companies themselves so you might like to check with Yamaha. I know for certain Evinrude have it as a part and this will work on any LowranceNET system including yours.

Alternatively you could use another EP designed for something else such as a fluid level device (EP-65R) and not connect it to a sending unit. Just borrow the processing and memory funtions.

TT
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.