Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 November 2010, 13:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
wiring colours

hi can any one help with connecting a garmin 172/172c to a silva s15 dsc radio to give gps position the radio has only two wires to use gps+ and gps - but the garmin has a host of colours eg red and black power.

blue nmea out (com 1 tx)
brown nmea in (com 1 rx)
white rtcm/nmea in (com 2 rx)
green nmea out (com 2 tx)
yellow alarm low
cheers

leon
__________________

__________________
leonhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 November 2010, 13:31   #2
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
if I remember correctly its garmin blue nmea out to gps + and gps - to ground (neg) feed.
Also make sure nmea out function is switched on in gps menu.
__________________

__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 November 2010, 13:40   #3
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonhouse View Post
hi can any one help with connecting a garmin 172/172c to a silva s15 dsc radio to give gps position the radio has only two wires to use gps+ and gps - but the garmin has a host of colours eg red and black power.

blue nmea out (com 1 tx)
brown nmea in (com 1 rx)
white rtcm/nmea in (com 2 rx)
green nmea out (com 2 tx)
yellow alarm low
cheers

leon
I think you want to connect GARMIN BLUE to SILVA GPS+ and also join the GARMIN BLACK (battery ground) to SILVA GPS-.

(this will connect the radio to "COM 1" on your gps. You need to set up the garmin to transmit in NMEA mode on this port (somewhere in the settings). Most DSC radios seem to have the correct "listening" information so probably doesn't need any settings changed.).
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 November 2010, 12:59   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
Yep, second Pol on the Black from the Garmin.

My GPS12 uses that setup too. If it doesn't work with the Garmin set to "NMEA out", check the baud rates are the same on radio and Garmin. I forget which one I had to alter, but mine were defaulted to two different speeds.
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 November 2010, 15:35   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - N Ireland
Town: Bangor
Boat name: Mitigator
Make: XS
Length: 7m +
Engine: Mercury Verado 250
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 72
Silva - Garmin

Agree with Polwart. Have just connected my Silva S10 VHF to my garmin 551 GPS on Com 2 (Com 1 feeds guidance to a Raymarine autopilot).

Connected Com 2 NMEA Tx from Garmin to the GPS +ve and the black Garmin ground lead to GPS -ve. Worked straight away!

Good luck!
__________________
mike-m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 November 2010, 09:11   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 2
result

thanks guys all up and running now.
blue to +
earth to -
and set up nmea out
and it all works

thanks again
leon
__________________

__________________
leonhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.