Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 May 2011, 03:06   #11
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Cannell View Post
Is the Marine cable ' tinned', do you use multi strand or single strand cable?.
Yes Marine grade cable is "Tinned" and multi strand as Erin says. The heatshrink and glue connectors also support the cable better at the entry point to the connector.

I would expect car stuff to last no more than two to three years if left alone and subject to any salt water contamination - using water repelling sprays can stretch this out longer but there is no substitute for quality!
__________________

__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 14:29   #12
Member
 
Vandad's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: London
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250hp
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Are you sure about that?
Yes!

Say if you install a 1amp fuse and the starter has a starting current of 1.2amp then it will blow up the fuse.

Again, say if there was a short circuit within the starter's circuit and you had installed a 50amp fuse, it will draw 50amp fault current until the fuse it blown. This can damage a lot of instruments especially in new outboards with ECU, mainly measurement units are so sensitive to high currents.
__________________

__________________
Vandad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 17:17   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandad View Post
Yes!

Say if you install a 1amp fuse and the starter has a starting current of 1.2amp then it will blow up the fuse.

Again, say if there was a short circuit within the starter's circuit and you had installed a 50amp fuse, it will draw 50amp fault current until the fuse it blown. This can damage a lot of instruments especially in new outboards with ECU, mainly measurement units are so sensitive to high currents.
You'd be looking at something close to a 200A+(depending on engine size)fuse for a starter circuit. It doesn't happen, trust me
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 19:08   #14
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Any recommendations for where to source new battery cables? The existing battery cables are too short, so I need to replace them with a set of new cables and ends. I'm already over-budget, so looking for the most cost-effective way to do it. Current cables are 25mm2 (170amp/70C). Probably need 4.5m lengths. Does the cable have to increase in diameter given length?

These guys seem reasonable, considering it's the tinned marine variety: https://www.electricalcarservices.co...25-p-1488.html
__________________
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 19:18   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Welding cable.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2011, 02:37   #16
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Welding cable.
Yup! can't beat welding cable. The good stuff is usually tinned as well. I'd go for 30 or 35mm2. Use good quality clamps at the battery end, don't use wing nuts on the battery clamps, use Nylocs or plain nuts with star washers. If it was me, I'd solder the lugs onto the motor end & then use heatshrink or self amalgamating tape over the joint between the insulation & the lug. Any welding suppliers will supply you short lengths of cable.
Oh & BTW, don't put any fuses in it
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2011, 03:07   #17
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vandad View Post
Yes!

Say if you install a 1amp fuse and the starter has a starting current of 1.2amp then it will blow up the fuse.

Again, say if there was a short circuit within the starter's circuit and you had installed a 50amp fuse, it will draw 50amp fault current until the fuse it blown. This can damage a lot of instruments especially in new outboards with ECU, mainly measurement units are so sensitive to high currents.
I build boats for a living and I would like to know where you have got this information from - clearly I have been rigging my race boats and RIBs all wrong for years!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2011, 04:24   #18
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
There will be a fuse in your motor, (50amp in mine IIRC) but this is nothing to do with the starter motor it is for the ancillary electrics, ecu etc. On inboard installations there is a tendancy to fit a large fuse for the starter current (450amp on a 265 inboard I know of) but I have never seen one on an outboard installation. Not to say it wouldn't harm having one though.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2011, 04:31   #19
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erin View Post
There will be a fuse in your motor, (50amp in mine IIRC) but this is nothing to do with the starter motor it is for the ancillary electrics, ecu etc. On inboard installations there is a tendancy to fit a large fuse for the starter current (450amp on a 265 inboard I know of) but I have never seen one on an outboard installation. Not to say it wouldn't harm having one though.
You have now
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC01655.jpg
Views:	322
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	59084  
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 May 2011, 07:08   #20
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Very good, and a shunt for a battery meter too. Proper installation.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.