Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 February 2006, 09:46   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: Champagne Eyes!!!!
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 50hp
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Wiring a lowrace 3300c

I hope some of you Lowrance owners will know the answer to this question.

I have a Lowrance 3300c plotter(USED)

I have tryed to wire it in using the marked power lead and it dont work!

I get a responce of "GPS Module Not Replying" ( or something like that).

Do i need to connect the Permanant power to the battery and the Nmea power via a switch to the battery to get the GPS antenna to work?

In other words

Do i need to wire both the unit to power and the NMEA BUS cicuit?

Hope im not sounding too thick.

But i Dont want to connect it and blow it up!

Many thanks

Nemo.
__________________

__________________
Nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 10:14   #2
Member
 
Ribshop's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: River Hamble
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 726
It should work with just the main + & - (red and black) wires connected to any 12v dc power source, these wires are usually very slightly larger than any of the nima wires. Nima only needs connecting if you are trying to interface it with your dsc or other nima interment.
__________________

__________________
RIB REPAIRS | RE-TUBES | RE-FIT - OUTBOARD SERVICING - ONLINE SHOP FOR RIB & TOHATSU PARTS .
Phone: 01489 556800 www.rib-shop.com
Ribshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 10:26   #3
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Graham, bring it along on Monday night and we can give you 2 dozen different ways of connecting it up in the mean time check the connections to the antenna and give them a clean plus squirt of WD 40 or something, also the connections on the back of the unit.
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 11:24   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: knebworth
Boat name: phoenix
Make: xs
Length: 6m +
Engine: 115 opti
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 193
Send a message via MSN to mark-f Send a message via Skype™ to mark-f
Lowrance wiring

If as I suspect the 3300c uses the LGC2000 gps unit, it is in fact a mini NMEA2000 network between the GPS & the display, in which case you will need to power both the NEMA2000 Bus and the display as follows:-

"to power an NMEA 2000 buss, you will attach both the
NMEA 2000 Power cable and the unit's Power Supply cable to the
boat's battery. To attach the NMEA 2000 Power cable, connect the
red wire to battery's + and black and shield wires to battery's ." here is link to the manual that explains it all.


http://www.lowrance.com/Manuals/File...021_020604.zip

Good Luck..

Mark
__________________
mark-f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 11:25   #5
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
There is no such thing as a NMEA power - the NMEA lead is for connecting it to another unit such as the Smartcraft instruments. unless you are connecting it to something else this wire(s) should be ignored.

Sounds more like the GPS antenna isn't sending a signal to the unit - is that unit for an external antenna or does it have one built in?
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 12:00   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: Champagne Eyes!!!!
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 50hp
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Chaps

Having read the replys and the instruction manual again it now looks to me that i do have to power the LCG2000 Gps Through the units own Nmea 2000 power lead on the unit.

I will now go home and try again wish me luck!

Any more ideas and views would be most welcome.

Also

Can the charts (Navonics or others) be backed-Up from one memory card to another?

Thanks

Nemo
__________________
Nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 12:05   #7
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
The NMEA 2000 is a powered bus the Reciever unit will need its own power source, we discoverd this with our 3500c.
To my knowledge you cannot back up the card

Another tip, Check lowrance web site for software updates we have downloaded 2 updates for our 3500c

Regards Brian
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 12:13   #8
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashbypower
The NMEA 2000 is a powered bus the Reciever unit will need its own power source, we discoverd this with our 3500c.
To my knowledge you cannot back up the card

Another tip, Check lowrance web site for software updates we have downloaded 2 updates for our 3500c

Regards Brian
I stand corrected, my apologies!
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 12:16   #9
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Cookee No need to apologies mate we all live to learn it's only NMEA 2000 that requires power caught me out till I read the manual. And I should know better I'm and Electronics Engineer

Cheers

Brian
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 February 2006, 12:31   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: Champagne Eyes!!!!
Make: Avon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 50hp
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 76
Thanks for all the replys

I have found now some more information on the Lowrance web site link attached ( looks like intersting concept)

You just plug your stuff in and away you go!

http://www.lowrance.com/Manuals/File...172_101005.pdf

Thanks Again!
__________________

__________________
Nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.