Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 June 2010, 18:59   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Will 2 echo sounders interfere with each other...?

Hi

I'm looking at getting a Raymarine A57D to replace the A435i
We already have an Eagle fish finder.

The idea is that the A57D would be a backup fishfinder.

Could we use both units at the same time - to cross check?

TIA
__________________

__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2010, 19:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Depends on freqs.
I have two sounders that work quite happily with each other on four different freqs.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2010, 19:27   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Oxford
Boat name: Seahorse
Make: Tornado
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 115
MMSI: 235020185
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
Depends on freqs.
I have two sounders that work quite happily with each other on four different freqs.
Hmm, both the spec's say 200khz (Raymarine / Eagle)

Any idea if there is an ID or an option to stop these interfering?
__________________
divelandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 June 2010, 20:07   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
You should be able to stop one in the options and only use one at a time. using both on the same freq won't work as they will interfere with one another.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 June 2010, 08:44   #5
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
Quote:
Originally Posted by divelandy View Post
Hmm, both the spec's say 200khz (Raymarine / Eagle)

Any idea if there is an ID or an option to stop these interfering?
Your frequency comes from the transducer the unit interprets its, you will therefore need to make sure your units are shipped with dual frequency transducers usually 50KHz and 200KHz or specify single frequencies, one 50 and one 200. Rig/Choose options to run one unit on 50 and one on 200 or vice versa and you'll be ok. Divers might like that as you'd see more bottom on the 50 but have more detail on the 200. I'm always for more bottom!
__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.