Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 June 2007, 14:27   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedajim View Post
so if you have no radar just a Garmin 178c, so starting from scratch what would you spec?
Depends how much you want to spend and how much you will use it.

Something like the Furuno 1623

http://www.boatbitz.co.uk/product_in...47cd983a3ba1fa

Shop around though and you may get it for less but don't go near Cactus/MES.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 14:30   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by bedajim View Post
so if you have no radar just a Garmin 178c, so starting from scratch what would you spec?
https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=151&pID=225

Neat as a pin, plugs straight in.

I've found them in the States on Ebay for $999.
__________________

__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 15:29   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post
https://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?cID=151&pID=225

Neat as a pin, plugs straight in.

I've found them in the States on Ebay for $999.
Won't work with a Garmin 178C though. That plotter isn't Garmin Network Compatible.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 15:39   #24
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Andover
Boat name: Vampire
Make: RIBCRAFT
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 300
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 58
Raymarine Excellent

Guys,

My 7.8m has a C80 / DSM 300 Sounder with transome mopunt / Wifi Lifetag system, 2kw RADAR, (AIS is been fitted this week) and interfaced with NMEA to Suzuki 300 and to Raymarine 240E DSC VHF. I also have a Gecko intercom system PTT integrated.

My back up is Garmin Handheld on bike mount / Simrad RD 68

Backup for this handbearing compas and handheld

Anyway to the point - the Rig is awsome and not over the top as I do x channel, Belgium, holland etc if anyone would like to come have a look at the installation poke around ask questions fiddle with the knobs buttons your more than welcome. Also happy to try and answer any tech questions on the Raymarine stuff.

Cheers

Greg
__________________
2012Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 16:46   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Won't work with a Garmin 178C though. That plotter isn't Garmin Network Compatible.
Eh?! What a load of junk!!!!
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 17:04   #26
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
I'll probably be accused of being biased, but I like the plug and play nature of my Raymarine gear.

My C120 display is connected up to the external GPS Ariel, a DSM300 Digital Fishfinder module, and transom mount 600W Transducer. Plus Navionics chart of course.

If I needed Radar, all would have to do is mount the dome, connect it to a power supply, and plug it in the back of the C120.

However, I do think that the C80 is a little small screen size wise to split 3 ways.

Nasher
__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 17:27   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Andover
Boat name: Vampire
Make: RIBCRAFT
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki 300
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 58
Screeen Size

Nasher

Probably agree with you the 3 way spit is a little tight, but the flexibillity to customise the screen splits helps. Don't use the RADAR that often so not really a problem. Looking forward to getting the AIS module as this will be overlaid on the Chart, just plugs in between the vhf and plotter. P&P
Quite a few ribs have twin display set ups so keeping the functionality, and packaging it smaller and thus having redundancy is useful.

cheers

gm

www.2012marine.com
__________________
2012Marine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 18:08   #28
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post
Eh?! What a load of junk!!!!
Yep - you have to get into the higher end Garmin kit (3000+ series) to have Network Compatibility. It would run the bill up a bit as the list price of the 3005C (5" screen) plotter is pushing 900 and no sounder included.
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2007, 18:12   #29
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Yep - you have to get into the higher end Garmin kit (3000+ series) to have Network Compatibility. It would run the bill up a bit as the list price of the 3005C (5" screen) plotter is pushing 900 and no sounder included.
It would appear which ever Radar road one should go down it ain't cheap.

Signed up for the Datmouth bash yet Dai?
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 June 2007, 05:24   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post
Signed up for the Datmouth bash yet Dai?
Yes - just need to put a couple more patches on my Flatacraft and change the plug on my Seagull.
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.