Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 March 2003, 03:23   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portchester, Hants.
Length: no boat
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 584
Send a message via AIM to Aging Youth Send a message via Yahoo to Aging Youth
Which GPS?

Hi Everyone,

My current Gps has been sent to "Davy Jones Locker" it sprung a leak due to the case being distorted on fitting (by previous owner) honest! Sent for repair and the satelite reciever is u/s cost of replacement uneconomical.

The unit was a MLR 312FX to replace will cost approx 300.00.

I have looked at the Navman 500i with the fuel unit. I have been quoted 280.00 for the pair. Dose anyone have experience on this Gps unit?

I understand that this unit is gas seald with an integral aerial, Is this better than external aerial mounted on an "A" Frame? Is it suitable for Ribs?

Or is there any other type of unit on the market that offers the same features? I have not found one as yet

I cannot justify the extra expence on a map type plotter unit, in my view still too expensive but I stand to be corrected. My Main cruise area is the Solent.

Sorry there are lots of questions. All views are very welcome.

Regards
__________________

__________________
Aging Youth
Aging Youth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 03:47   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Edenbridge
Boat name: Scorpion
Make: Scorpion 8.5mtr
Length: 8m +
Engine: 315hp Yanmar Diesel
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 696
GPS

Hi There

I have heard that the Navman electronics leak, some people are on there 3rd one etc, I would recommend Garmin every time, had no problems with any of there equipment.

Julian
__________________

__________________
Julian Lyas
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 04:47   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
GPS

Kevin,

I would agree with Julian, the Garmin units are very good and the after sales service is second to none.

I have the 126 with remote aerial but I think you can get the same model with built-in aerial which saves all the hassle of trying to thread a cable (which can't be cut) through to the A-frame.
__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 05:01   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally posted by Ribald
the hassle of trying to thread a cable (which can't be cut)
Oh yes it can!

But I would agree that Garmin products are excellent, with a terrific after sales service.
__________________
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 06:03   #5
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,097
I have a MLR 312 GPS plus a Raymarine 425 Plotter on Blue Ice. The thing I like about the MLR is that it has a full numeric keypad which makes entering waypoints a lot easier. The plotter btw is around 400, what makes them expensive is the price of Navionics chart chips - 180 for one for the East Coast. (Mind you does cover from Holland on one side, Grimbsy on 't'other down to Sarf of the Dover strait)

If I were replacing a GPS I would tend to go for one with an internal antennae. Two reasons....1) avoids the hassle of running cabling under the deck to the A-frame and 2) one less connector to get wet, break and generally worry about.

Cant speak for Garmin cos never owned one but lots of folk swear by them. Had a Lowrance and wasnt impressed. Gotta MLR which I like but came with the boat and bought the Raymarine which I think is excellent VFM.

Cheers,
Alan
__________________
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 06:15   #6
Member
 
Country: Other
Make: FB 55
Length: 10m +
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,711
First Raymarine, second Garmin. No contest!
__________________
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 06:17   #7
DM
RIBnet supporter
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Little Wing
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Tohatsu 90
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,067
Re: Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally posted by Dirk Diggler
Oh yes it can!
Dirk's dead right. Just pick up some scissors and go snip. Shortly afterwards, do the same to your warranty card.
__________________
DM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 08:42   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 693
Warrenttees aside for the cable. before you cut the connector off make sure you have the correct replacement connector, "looks about right" offten isn't goodnt enough.
Have fun Jelly
__________________
Jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 09:07   #9
Administrator
 
John Kennett's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Brighton
Length: 3m +
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 6,830
There's no need to thread the cable to the A-frame, because there's no need to mount your GPS antenna on the A-frame!

Not only is the cabling a pain, but the antenna is unnecessarily vulnerable stuck up there -- especially on the standard 1" screw mount (designed for sailing boats!).

Mount your GPS antenna on the console. It doesn't need to be high, so long as it has a decent view of the sky. With some designs (possiobly many, or even most) you can take the bottom half off the casing and mount the unit straight onto the console. It's even possible to mount the antenna inside the console and still get a decent signal. Have a play around -- you might be surprised.

Why do people put GPS antennas on A-frames anyway?

John
__________________
John Kennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 09:34   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Re: Re: Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally posted by davidmanning


Dirk's dead right. Just pick up some scissors and go snip. Shortly afterwards, do the same to your warranty card.
What's your name, Jon Fuller. Garmin don't mind you shortening the cable, as long as you crimp and solder the new plug on.

Although i would also agree that there is no need to fit the antenna on an A frame. Quite often we fit them inside the console, after all, the antenna casing is made of plastic and the signal seem to penetrate that ok!
__________________

__________________
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.