Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 March 2003, 10:07   #11
Member
 
Country: Canada
Town: Newfoundland
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 2,097
Quote:
Originally posted by John Kennett

Why do people put GPS antennas on A-frames anyway?

John
Damn good question. Guess it has something to do with using that dirty great piece of stainless for something useful other than mounting Nav lights on. Since 90% of dont have self righting gear, IMHO none of us need A frames really. Its just a styling thing.

I have gps antennaes both on the A-frame (cos thats what was already there) and on the console - mounted flush as JK mentions. The console mounted one for the plotter seems to get a decent Sat signal even though at some angles it could be conceivably shadowed by the steel frame around the windscreen.

Alan
__________________

__________________
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 10:17   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Edenbridge
Boat name: Scorpion
Make: Scorpion 8.5mtr
Length: 8m +
Engine: 315hp Yanmar Diesel
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 696
A Frames

I think the reason used to be to ensure that the antenna was not blocked by anything as the reception power a few years back was no as strong as it is now, It seems fine to flush mount them now and we will be adding ours to the console or the engine both when we fit the new Raython in a few weeks time.

A frames help with VHF reception as its good to get the antenna as high as possible.

Julian
__________________

__________________
Julian Lyas
Julian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 13:09   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Douglas Isle of Man
Make: Osprey
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 70hp 4 stroke
MMSI: 235035776
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 288
Of course it might be useful to carry your charts & compasses for the next few weeks in case Uncle Sam switches the satellites off for a bit........
__________________
Tax is paid by mortals
whitingiom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 14:00   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southam
Make: Humber
Length: 5m
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 2
I have a Navman 500 with a built in antenna, it was usualy taken off and kept inside the console, generally a good job but the screen steamed up a bit last year. I intended to take it back but the years warranty ran out. I opened it up and dried out the silica gel pack and its been ok since. Not sure I would want to leave one out in the open all the time...
__________________
Gordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 15:01   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Boat name: Spud
Make: BWM
Length: 5.75
Engine: Mariner 125
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 199
Right m8, I have alwaysed used Garmin, i have the Gramin 126 (GPS with internal arial) stright on my console, dad (cabin crusier) has Garmin 180 (chartplotter) ariel on roof, and we share the old Garmin 12 (GPS handheld), never had any problems at all. But I always considered Garmin to be a average suitable manufacture. For someone like me, on a (lose) budget who looks to buy cheap but good.

But the Navman with FUEL UNIT sounds good, if keeping an eye on your fuel consuption is what you need (i.e. crusing lots etc). Navman have a good repuation, but as pointed out many people have had leakage problems and have had many units replaced. So if you want the added benefit of a unit that will be monitoring your fuel with the risk that it will leak (even if it does hopefully under warranty so shouldnt be to much hassel to replace).

Persoanlly I'd give myself a few more options than just 2, read a few boating mags to see what they say when they do a test, then decide what suits you.

well thats my thoughts anyway
__________________
-<=[Tw18]=>- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 17:49   #16
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Alan
...none of us need A frames really. Its just a styling thing....
- C'mon Alan, you've forgotten that really vital purpose of the A-frame. I'll give you a clue, just as important as the drysuit comfort zip!
__________________
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 March 2003, 17:57   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
I don't really think there is much debate to be had on the subject.

Navman make an affordable fuel monitoring solution with the added bonus of a GPS which is also now needed following death of the previous one.

Buy it. To my knowledge the only alternative is a FLO-Scan which is more expensive and does not come with a "free" GPS!

D
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2003, 03:37   #18
Member
 
Country: Other
Make: FB 55
Length: 10m +
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,711
Daniel, have you got the Navman 500i fitted with the transducer kit? Who else has? I fitted mine last week obviously for a twin engine set-up, and tried it out at the week-end. I was just wondering about the accuracy...would you trust the figures implicitly?
__________________
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2003, 05:58   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
I did not need, nor could i justify the extra cost of another GPS (More then happy with the Lowrance GPS-Map i have) but i wanted fuel monitoring...

So i fitted a Navman fishfinder with the fuel monitoring capability. This was months ago and the accuracy is very impressive - within my ability to measure it that is. I always fill the boat when back home fron cans, when the Navman says i've used 25li i can get a whole can in, if it says 50, two etc. Never measured the accuracy against a pump i'm affraid. Also never needed to calibrate the flow meter.

Don't really know how big my fuel tank is either! (sounds bad er?) But i've set the Navman to think it's 90li, best to be safe then sorry. I have run out once (before i had the fuel computer) and roughly worked it out to be 100li based upon reserve put in, distance to slip and amount to fill tank once home!

The addition of this is the only way i have been able to get some real consumption figures. Cruising @ 4000 RPM, i am burning 30li/hr, which i can easily double to 60li/hr if i nail the go faster stick!

I'll be interested to hear you'r figures Charles.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 March 2003, 09:24   #20
Member
 
Country: Other
Make: FB 55
Length: 10m +
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,711
Interesting Daniel, my Navman was reporting 46l/hr cruising at +-38knts about 4000rpm - two Mariner 225hp (combined).
If this is in fact correct then I am not overly worried.

I would think it crucial to let Navman know exactly what capacity you have as it can then work out how much you have used over a given period. It is frightening to watch the figures as you open the throttles on mine - at this stage I pretend I am an ostrich
__________________

__________________
Charles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.