Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 April 2011, 19:23   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
which chartplotter?

finally sorted some summer storage and have to get some gear fitted before it leaves home, i have a standard horizon gx1500 on the way and would like to fit gps while the boat is here. dont want to spend more than i need to, reccomendations for model and supplier would be very welcome, cheers, mark.
__________________

__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 April 2011, 20:49   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I've not tried others but am very pleased with my Garmin 556s.
__________________

__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2011, 01:56   #3
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Value for money you cannot beat the Garmin 750, but if space is tight the 556 is great. Both now come with Bluechart napping data preloaded and both are available in sonar capable versions.

We will try and match any English chandlers ex-vat price.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2011, 02:45   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel Ribs View Post
Value for money you cannot beat the Garmin 750, but if space is tight the 556 is great. Both now come with Bluechart napping data preloaded and both are available in sonar capable versions.

We will try and match any English chandlers ex-vat price.
do you stock the lowrance hds-5m or 7m ? i like the option to add the structure scan kit in the future
__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2011, 03:45   #5
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by markg View Post
do you stock the lowrance hds-5m or 7m ? i like the option to add the structure scan kit in the future
Yes indeed we do, Structurescan and broadband radar are both fantastic.

I will check on the latest price of the M models, but to give you an idea the HDS5 is 490 and the HDS7 is 849.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2011, 16:56   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
whats the difference between the hds7 and the hds7m, do they both work with the structure scan kit? cheers, mark.
__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2011, 19:15   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
I think the HDS7 is a plotter / sounder combo, the 7M is plotter only.

I've got a HDS8 plotter / sounder with structure scan. I think its great, very easy to use and really crisp screen images.

I think the 7 comes with a transducer so you just have to buy the chart.
__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 03:32   #8
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Doof
I think the HDS7 is a plotter / sounder combo, the 7M is plotter only.
Quite right. Though both work with Structurescan, but if you want planing speed sonar then the M version is a no go.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 16:02   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
from what i have found via google the structure scan gear seems to work best at around 8 knots would i be wasteing money to buy the hds7 when the hds7m would do the same job for a bit less money, the structure scan kit comes with a transducer doesnt it?
a plotter would do me for now but the option to add the structurescan gear when funds allow would be better
__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 16:25   #10
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Structurecan does come with the transducer, but it is sometimes good to have depth info (albeit less detailed) while at passage making speeds.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 17:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.