Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 29 April 2011, 16:44   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel Ribs View Post
Structurecan does come with the transducer, but it is sometimes good to have depth info (albeit less detailed) while at passage making speeds.
thats what i am trying to weigh up, if you had the hds7 and structurescan do they run off the same transducer or do they need separate transducers, basic depth info would be on the plotter display wouldnt it?
many thanks for your help, its a bit confuseing for me
__________________

__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 17:25   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
The structure scan uses a separate transducer, its larger than the normal transducer you get with the HDS unit.
__________________

__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 17:29   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
The depth reading on mine works fine at all speeds up to around 35 knots.
__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 18:24   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: telford
Make: shakespeare
Length: 6m +
Engine: 150 optimax
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Doof View Post
The depth reading on mine works fine at all speeds up to around 35 knots.
thanks for the reply, what model do you have the hds7 or the hds7m? if the hds7m is the depth reading comeing from the structure scan transducer or the transducer that comes with the hds7 what i am getting at is does the structure scan gear replace the transducer that is supplied with the hds 7 or work along side it ,do you need both?
__________________
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 19:01   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
I've got HDS8 which is pretty much the same as the HDS7. Depth reading is supplied by the transducer you get with the HDS unit. The structure scan transducer is larger and a different shape to the one you get with the HDS unit.

You need to fit both transducers.
__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 April 2011, 19:24   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
Its a bit hard to see on the photo but the transducers are both to the right side. The larger lower one is the structure scan, the smaller higher one is the HDS sounder.

Its in the marina so I can't take any better photos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20110410-00056.jpg
Views:	135
Size:	108.0 KB
ID:	58887  
__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2011, 01:53   #17
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by markg
thats what i am trying to weigh up, if you had the hds7 and structurescan do they run off the same transducer or do they need separate transducers, basic depth info would be on the plotter display wouldnt it?
You will only get basic depth with the none M version, the Structurescan transducer is separate to the basic transducer and does not work at planing speeds. Structurescan is only for slow detailed scanning.

I would recommend getting the dual purpose (nine M) version with the standard transducer, with the option to add Structurescan and radar.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2011, 04:32   #18
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northumberland
Boat name: Dr Doof
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 125hp
MMSI: 235082981
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Channel Ribs View Post
You will only get basic depth with the none M version, the Structurescan transducer is separate to the basic transducer and does not work at planing speeds. Structurescan is only for slow detailed scanning.

I would recommend getting the dual purpose (nine M) version with the standard transducer, with the option to add Structurescan and radar.
The M models are plotter only aren't they?

The HDS 5 and 7 come with a transducer, the HDS 8 and 10 don't, you have to order the transducer separately.

You need one transducer for your HDS unit.

The structure scan comes with its own transducer. Its a different shape and size to the HDS one. You'll need to fit them both.
__________________
Dr Doof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2011, 04:53   #19
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Doof View Post
The M models are plotter only aren't they?
Yep

I made a typo on nine instead of none in the brackets.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 May 2011, 09:58   #20
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
I'm going to chuck a curveball in here.

Could you use the NMEA2K input and a generic NMEA transducer to get depth as a number, which might widen the possibilites of which plotter you buy? That would potentially mean the only future issue would be "does it talk t othe Structurescan?"
__________________

__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.