Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 July 2011, 04:50   #1
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
Where to buy?

Hi Guys

I am going to be hopefully rewiring the console on my tornado at the end of the month.

I think I need a new switch panel (between 5 and 8 switches), and I think I am going to have to replace at least some of the wiring.

The question is ... where do I buy this stuff from? Is there somewhere online I can buy it cheaper than going into a chandlery? I don't want cheap chinese import stuff from ebay... I want something I can trust/rely on.

Thanks

Ben
__________________

__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 05:28   #2
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Something like this?

About 75 pounds...
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 05:34   #3
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
Looks perfect, do you have an eshop?
__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 05:41   #4
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
The cheapest way to get a switch panel is to make one using Carling switches with rubber boots. There's plenty of ideas on here from people who've done it.

Make sure your cable is tinned, another search on here will get you some links to suppliers.

Here's one for starters: Power Store
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 05:50   #5
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by benc View Post
Looks perfect, do you have an eshop?
Yep: Essential Bits and Bobs, Channel Ribs

As Martini says, there is lots of info on here about making your own panel up too
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 05:58   #6
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
The panel looks ideal, I will look at getting that purchased shortly... how long does delivery normally take? I am in the isle of man next week so wont be doing anything until at least the week after

As for cabling, what size cable should I be getting? I will be for gps/radio/compass/bilge/spotlight/nav lights (I think thats it for now).
__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 06:08   #7
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by benc View Post
how long does delivery normally take?
We usually use Royal Mail, though they have been a bit slow of late - over three days even with first class seems to be average. Best to allow a week.

Would you like it pre-wired and labeled for your setup?
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 06:10   #8
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
How would you terminate the wires ? if I could just strip my wires, add a connector and clip it in, that would be pretty good...
__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 06:12   #9
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by benc View Post
How would you terminate the wires ? if I could just strip my wires, add a connector and clip it in, that would be pretty good...
We can send the right connectors for the panel

If everything is in or on your console, chances are the manufacturer's leads are all long enough?
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 July 2011, 07:35   #10
Member
 
benc's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Intrepid
Make: Tornado
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150 Yamaha HPDI
MMSI: 235066402
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,319
Send a message via Skype™ to benc
I am not sure on the lengths of wires... its not the easiest place to get in to... I think they should be long enough though. What would the extra cost for the wiring be?
__________________

__________________
benc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.