Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 January 2010, 11:48   #21
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Most of us ribbers have the plotter by the wheel. It's mostly only the Redbay guys can park theirs below deck! (Which is where the NASA "box" has it's uses on a RIB). If I;m looking to receive only, for not a lot more money then the AIS reciever, I can upgrade my radio & get DSC on the plotter as well.



...which is around 500L of fuel at marina prices, and comes back to Malthouse's original Q - How cheap does it need to be before you'll buy one?


I'm going to chuck this in as a thought in case any of the electronics manufacturers are out there: Plotter with a VHF anenna connection on the back. For the cost of a bit of added known technology (i.e.relatively small development costs), the plotter has the AIS reception built in. On a small open boat, the reduction in wiring & hardware will not only free up some space, but also improve system reliability as you don't need another NMEA talker in the bus with a few more connectors to get corroded......

I suppose taking that to it's ultimate conclusion, maybe a SW antenna connector as well - then you could get Navtex on screen too!
Standard Horizon do a system in the US which is a full VHF radio (2 way) with a plotter built in - that would presumably make what you suggest trivial (i.e. 99% software) if it is not already done. Sadly its not licensed in the EU,
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 13:19   #22
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Plotter with a VHF anenna connection on the back. For the cost of a bit of added known technology (i.e.relatively small development costs), the plotter has the AIS reception built in.
As I hinted at in my opening post, marine electronics manufacturers are not quick to develop new technologies. By develop I do not mean invent, but rather apply.

It makes no sense, but that is my experience.
__________________

__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 13:40   #23
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeCC View Post
Standard showed their AIS-inclusive VHF radios at London. Indications on RRP look good, so discounted price will be OK. They aren't transponders though, just a receive unit. They have mini AIS display on the screen and you can scroll round them to pick up MMSI and call up directly.
I've just had a look on their US site - and it does look good (price in the states seems to be about $170 more than the equivalent radio without AIS... so I would guess you should be able to get one for something like 300 GBP here).

That feature of being able to find the ship off your starboard bow's MMSI and DSC call could justify the AIS premium. Can you do that if you have a suitable radio and plotter with AIS input? i.e. can you click on a ship displayed on the plotter and have it feed the MMSI back to the radio to initiate the call?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 14:03   #24
Member
 
Leapy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sheepy Parva
Boat name: Sadly Sold
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by Knot Yet View Post
Leapy - we have a 550s and have done exactly as Duck Witch (Welcome to RIBnet ) details above - works a treat and we felt it was money well spent
Jean...does that mean that if I have one of THESE then the existing Icom VHF radio aerial feeds it (as well as the radio) and then the AIS unit feeds the Garmin 550s?

How does the AIS connect to the 550? Is there a connector already there?

Is it really as simple as feed the AIS 12v, the GPS aerial input and connect it up to the 550 and away you go?
__________________
Leapy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 14:16   #25
Member
 
Knot Yet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Horsham
Boat name: Knot a RIB
Make: Avon Typhoon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 25hp
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 868
Hi Leapy

We have one of these:

http://www.marine-super-store.com/po...artno=99119713

connected to the 550s - so the following is based on the NASA AIS ENGINE 2 ( It does look as if your one doesn't need a different aerial which is much easier for installing - but it is a lot more money so might be worth checking on what the differences are)

The AIS Engine needs a separate aerial to our fixed VHF radio (recommended set up) - it connects to the NMEA input on the Garmin cable - this is a case of wiring up as opposed to connecting together - if that makes sense!!

It is very simple - honest - but fiddly:

1. New aerial required which needs to be 1m away from existing aerial and 3 metres from the location of the AIS box - we added a T bar to the top of the A frame

2. 12v feed for the AIS

3. Wire AIS into Garmin cable through the NMEA input

4. Optional speaker for warning beebs

5. Place unit in waterproof container as the AIS units doesn't like the wet

Pretty sure that was it

J
__________________
Sometimes my mind not only wanders ..... it leaves completely

Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Knot Yet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 15:56   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
And set Garmin to high speed input?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 15:56   #27
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
Most of us ribbers have the plotter by the wheel. It's mostly only the Redbay guys can park theirs below deck!
Yeah, OK - but there are a few rag & stick types in disguise on here as well!
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9D280 View Post
I'm going to chuck this in as a thought in case any of the electronics manufacturers are out there: Plotter with a VHF anenna connection on the back. For the cost of a bit of added known technology (i.e.relatively small development costs), the plotter has the AIS reception built in.
There is a small plotter on the market which does that, but not a mainstream brand.
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 16:21   #28
Member
 
Knot Yet's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Horsham
Boat name: Knot a RIB
Make: Avon Typhoon
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 25hp
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 868
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwalker View Post
And set Garmin to high speed input?
Not sure - I don't remember doing so - but that does'nt mean I didn't
__________________
Sometimes my mind not only wanders ..... it leaves completely

Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Knot Yet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 16:42   #29
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
That feature of being able to find the ship off your starboard bow's MMSI and DSC call could justify the AIS premium. Can you do that if you have a suitable radio and plotter with AIS input?
You need a two way connection between compatible devices, but the examples given here would work.

And yes Jean, you would have had to change the data settings when you plugged AIS into the NMEA input; so easy I am not surprised you do not recall it.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 January 2010, 17:49   #30
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Jersey
Boat name: Archangel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: ETec 225
MMSI: 235063789
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,005
My Raymarine E80 had MARPA, AIS and Navtex. They're all pretty useful. AIS data can be plotted on screen next to the ship's icon. Also, the ship's track can be shown via AIS as well as those of all moving non-AIS enabled vessels (via MARPA, which needs a special compass by the way). I still think that radar's the most useful thing I have on my boat, after my ETec that is.
__________________

__________________
GJ0KYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.