Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 December 2018, 13:39   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 140HP
MMSI: 235115642
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 438
RIBase
Anderson Powerpole Connector

They might be able to get the housing but it isn't on their website.

http://www.vehicle-wiring-products.e...oof-connectors

They also do some large Superseal connectors but I don't know how you would keep them captive

I though about a shore power connector but they are a bonkers price.
__________________

__________________
GuyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 14:17   #12
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,883
Nice one, worth a call.

The problem is I don't think Anderson make that circular thing, I think it is powerwerx and they are USA only.

I will order something next week.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 14:50   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
jambo's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Girvan & Tayvallich
Boat name: Breawatch
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 F/stroke
MMSI: ex directory!!
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,997
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
Nice one, worth a call.

The problem is I don't think Anderson make that circular thing, I think it is powerwerx and they are USA only.

I will order something next week.

Cheers


Paul could you not fabricate a consul housing for the Anderson plugs using an old gauge or something.
__________________
jambo
'Carpe Diem'
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club
Member of SABS ( Scottish West Division)
jambo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 15:16   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: suffolk
Boat name: not yet
Make: Nautica
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 115 4 stroke
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 326
Usually i have found when you are looking for something no one seems to make ,it usually turns out its not made because no one wants or needs one , personally i would put an ammeter in line while you are pumping what you plan to use it for and see how many amps you are drawing ,i cant believe that pump draws 20 amps in normal duty , it would be a design disaster ,you can always protect a lower capability plug and socket with a relevant fuse if you know what the current reqirement is ! and your needs are catered for.
__________________
Orwell boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 15:56   #15
RIBnet Supporter
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,459
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
i cant believe that pump draws 20 amps in normal duty
Mine blows 15amp bluesea fuses... :-p
__________________
.
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 16:12   #16
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orwell boy View Post
Usually i have found when you are looking for something no one seems to make ,it usually turns out its not made because no one wants or needs one , personally i would put an ammeter in line while you are pumping what you plan to use it for and see how many amps you are drawing ,i cant believe that pump draws 20 amps in normal duty , it would be a design disaster ,you can always protect a lower capability plug and socket with a relevant fuse if you know what the current reqirement is ! and your needs are catered for.
20 amps is a design disaster how?

Doesn't seem bad to me for what it is?

Given 15 amp fuses blow their rating is probably close (it isn't in their interest to incorrectly spec it surely?)

I have an inline watt meter good to 150 amps here so I'll put it on for a nosey next time I'm at boat.
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 16:46   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Waterlooville
Boat name: Tickler
Make: Halmatic P22
Length: 6m +
Engine: Inboard Diesel 140HP
MMSI: 235115642
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 438
RIBase
If the pump has a 200W motor, for example, it will draw 17 Amps. Could you get a more efficient motor? Probably - but it would be double the price and people aren't willing to pay that amount.
__________________
GuyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 16:52   #18
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,598
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by dubrus View Post
Nice one, worth a call.

The problem is I don't think Anderson make that circular thing, I think it is powerwerx and they are USA only.

I will order something next week.

Cheers


Are you putting some kind of isolator/switch in the circuit? The connectors won’t last long if they are exposed to the elements with power to them.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unkIVvjZc9Y
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 17:10   #19
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by jambo View Post
Paul could you not fabricate a consul housing for the Anderson plugs using an old gauge or something.
I'm considering ordering a 3d printer so I may make something, but patience isn't my strong suit.
__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 December 2018, 17:12   #20
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Are you putting some kind of isolator/switch in the circuit? The connectors won’t last long if they are exposed to the elements with power to them.
They are not exposed, they are under a cover. Won't be ip68 but good enough for my use if I don't go the bulgin route (as I said, not a fan of them but for my inbound light bar bulgin will probably be better)

They will be off when boat on trailer, I never leave batts on.

Not going to isolate them other than into the boats fuse box and master switch. Bulgin will be same gig.
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
dubrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.