Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 19 July 2004, 05:50   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
Vtronix Aerials

We have a Vtronix whip aerial on top of Pendragon's A-frame that has developed a loose connection on the lead inside the loading coil at the base. Before I take "tools" to it can anyone tell me if this is a "get-at-able" connection or are we talking new aerial/lead? Don't really fancy having to thread a new cable from consul to a-frame.
__________________

__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 06:23   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Kingsbridge.
Boat name: Dolly
Make: Quicksilver
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50hp Johnson
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 49
At worst it should be a solder job, the cable should be fine.
__________________

__________________
Tight Fart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 07:59   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tight Fart
At worst it should be a solder job, the cable should be fine.
I'm sure that cable is fine but don't new aerials come with cable already fitted hence the requirement to re-thread between frame & consul?
__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 08:07   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 693
Vitronix

Hi Peter
I think that its a screw fitting in the base that you have to set the cable trimmed to the correct length and the braid brushed back. They can be tight.
When you unscrew it make sure you don't loose the little brass bullet like piece. there should be 2-3mm of the center core protruding and the braid should be in contact with the brass bullet, trimmed ~4mm
I talked to the manufacturers a while ago and you can't get replacement elements any more, but you can get the base and the element without the RG58 cable.
Hope it helps
James
__________________
Jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 08:46   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
Thanks for the info James. I don't suppose you happen to have contact details for the manufacturers do you?
__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 08:48   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribald
Don't really fancy having to thread a new cable from consul to a-frame.
Can't you pull a mouse through with old cable and the pull the new back with that?

(No rodents were harmed during this opperation)
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 09:15   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Halliday
Can't you pull a mouse through with old cable and the pull the new back with that?
There is a mouse already installed in the trunking but t'would be easier to attack the root of the problem at the frame end.
__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 09:21   #8
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Pete, The Solent super store chandlers had a replacement whips when I was in buying a complete new ariel on Friday after someone snapped mine

Would save the cost of buying a complete new ariel.

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 09:58   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Saltash, Cornwall
Make: Rib less:-(
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 693
Hi Peter

http://www.communicationaerials.com/

Pete7
Thanks for that I need a whip element myself after someone borrowed mine and didn't replace it!!
http://www.marine-super-store.com
VTRONIX REPLACEMENT WHIP
Part Number: 04329
Stock Availability: Yes
Size: 162210
Price: 25.95

Rds
James
__________________
Jelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2004, 10:34   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leatherhead
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 907
Pete7, it's not the whip thats gone, it's the cable connection into the base.

James, thanks for the info. I will speak to Communicationaerials about the prob.
__________________

__________________
Peter (nick, nick) T

Age and treachery will always overcome youth and skill! Bullshit and brilliance only come with age and experience.
Ribald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.