Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 14 October 2007, 07:02   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Newport
Make: Avon Rover 3.4
Length: 3m +
Engine: Merc 15hp F/S
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 173
Vtronics

My 5.85 built in 2005 and fitted out at Ribcraft has a Vtronics VHF antenna as shown in photo. Unfortunately the base unit is still firmly attached to the A frame but I have lost the actual antenna part, does anyone know if these are available as replacements? if so does anyone know where I can get one.
Cheers
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 176.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	163.6 KB
ID:	30696  
__________________

__________________
woot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 08:11   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portishead/Falmouth
Make: Ribeye
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Welcome to the vtronix lost aerial club!

I'm afraid you are not alone, and no, you can't get just the antenna part as a spare!

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?t=20615
__________________

__________________
alexm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 09:49   #3
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Check out Page 7 HERE Ok not just the whip, it includes the base but not the entire base and feed. Should be cheaper than a complete set.
__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 10:45   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
been there- done that- lost that bit of aerial .
The new model raider aerial does seem to have sucessfully addressed the problem with totally different base. Well I havent lost this one yet anyway
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 10:50   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
I tightened mine with a pair of pliers and so far don't seem to have a problem. I thought about binding it up with insulating tape too, but I haven't got around to that yet...
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 11:42   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
the old model seemed capable of losing the whip whilst the retaining cone/nut thing was still attached and still tight. My last one just left the boat on a slightly "choppy" trip leaving the nut and the "O" ring inside it still in place. The insulating tape or some light fishing line twixt whip and sommat guaranteed to stay on the boat seems a good idea. I have one of the older model still on a boat and that has stayed put, the blob of silicon I put in there cos the boat lives outside all year round may be helping.
As I said t'new un seems ok-up to now- and its had a lot of trips out
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 13:26   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Newport
Make: Avon Rover 3.4
Length: 3m +
Engine: Merc 15hp F/S
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 173
Thanks guys as always very helpful information. A few more questions then, if I am buying a replacement raider how do I know if its a new or an old model? can I change the unit without replacing the cable as my cabling is through the A frame and underfloor so a major pain to change! I will have a web search but can anyone recommend a supplier.
Cheers
__________________
woot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 October 2007, 14:34   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portishead/Falmouth
Make: Ribeye
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by woot View Post
Thanks guys as always very helpful information. A few more questions then, if I am buying a replacement raider how do I know if its a new or an old model? can I change the unit without replacing the cable as my cabling is through the A frame and underfloor so a major pain to change! I will have a web search but can anyone recommend a supplier.
Cheers
Check out the link in my post above, there are pics of the new and old models. The bullet connector is directly interchangeable (I was in the same 'boat' so to speak with the coax running through the A-frame)... BUT the first replacement new design I had the bullet connector collar (where the wire screws in beneath) was extremely tight, too tight to do up by hand... the aerial ended up fracturing on the main thread and fell off! I put this down to the fact that the collar holding in the wire underneath was so tight it stressed the main body of the aerial base causing it to crack and fall off!

The second replacement seemed much better and is thankfully still attached with no problems!
__________________
alexm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 October 2007, 16:53   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Newport
Make: Avon Rover 3.4
Length: 3m +
Engine: Merc 15hp F/S
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 173
I spoke to Ribcraft today after they returned a mail I had sent them prior to starting this post. They confirmed that they have had lots of reported problems of bits being lost from vtronics units. They are now having units supplied to them by vtronics with the whips fixed in place and the cable to base unit joint also fixed. Their recommendation was to fit one of these "fixed units". The drawback is that I will need to rethread the full cable length through the underfloor trunking but they assure me that this should be no problem (famous last words). I took their advice and ordered one (47), sound like a bit more of a balls ache than I had hoped but will hopefully mean I should only have to do it once.
__________________
woot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 October 2007, 04:54   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
It shouldn't be too much of a pain if you simply attach the new cable to the end of the old one and gently thread it through the boat.

I think we've been through about 5 of these ariels on a Ribcraft 4.8. I prefer the standard whip type ariel - never had a problem with one of these.
__________________

__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.