Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 18 August 2015, 17:40   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
which Garmin?
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:42   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Oh and what wiring is there? Not uncommon for people to report not needing an earth when they install but if whatever dubious route it was earthing becomes more dubious that would be an issue...
__________________

__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:44   #23
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
It's the 550S
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:46   #24
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
It has earth wire & the 3 coloured ones that go to the radio. Has worked previously. But stopped on the latest trip out!
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 18:23   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
OK So on the Home Screen -> Configuration -> Communications -> Serial 1

Set the NMEA Standard not Garmin or High Speed.

**AND**

Home Screen -> Configure -> Communications -> NMEA Setup

3 coloured wires + 1 earth doesn't stack up right...unless you are including the 12V red in that mix. It should be 4 wires for 2 way traffic, but actually one of them is a joint earth so 3 would work.

Wiring: Looks like the ground uses the common ground. So red to +12V, Black to 0V on power. Blue OUT from GPS , BROWN IN to GPS. So you don't need brown to get a signal on the radio but it should take a DSC pos from the radio (e.g a distress alert) and plot it. You could try sticking a voltmeter across Black and Blue and see if it shows any sign of life... Ignore grey and voilet.

Not sure what SH DSC set you have but could be that you connect:

Black on Garmin to: Green on Radio
Blue on Garmin to: Blue of Radio
and for two directional traffic:
Grey on Garmin to Grey on Radio
Black on Garmin to Brown on Radio

You could in theory drop the Brown Radio and Green Radio off to any 0V/GND/Negative connection thats handy and it be picked up by the Black at the other end. As things are playing up I'd run a specific wire while testing.

Your radio colours may vary. The SH radio may also need told to listen (need model to know).

There isn't anything simple like an order of trunring things on that has differed? i.e. plotter before radio or vice versa?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 August 2015, 10:40   #26
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
Thanks for all that info. I have printed it off & will looking at the connections shortly. The radio a SH Quest X 1500e
Cheers-John
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 August 2015, 21:11   #27
Member
 
Country: Norway
Town: Horten
Boat name: Capt.Magnus
Make: Valiant 850 Patrol
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2xYamaha 250
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4
Vhf

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
What he said - but others will say the same about Icom. Outside these two main manufacturers people are generally less enthusiastic about use on open, wet, ribs.
Hello

I have just crossed the North sea three times and use my RIB all year long in Norway even vintertime in 15celcius below. I have now a Standard Horizon nr 3 they have all broken down. So I gonna change to the same brand as my GPS and radar, Simrad that is really good stuff on a RIB, not the cheapest but qualitity all the way!
__________________
Capt.Magnus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2015, 07:16   #28
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Capt.Magnus View Post
Hello

I have just crossed the North sea three times and use my RIB all year long in Norway even vintertime in 15celcius below. I have now a Standard Horizon nr 3 they have all broken down. So I gonna change to the same brand as my GPS and radar, Simrad that is really good stuff on a RIB, not the cheapest but qualitity all the way!
Yes I should probably have said that other big names in the marine electronics world including Raymarine, Navico/Simrad/Lowrance, Garmin, etc have all produced credible offerings for the leisure market and there can be advantages to having all your electronics from one brand.

Out of interest what was the "failure mode" on the SH units? Was it obvious before you needed it?
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2015, 08:36   #29
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,594
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poly View Post
Yes I should probably have said that other big names in the marine electronics world including Raymarine, Navico/Simrad/Lowrance, Garmin, etc have all produced credible offerings for the leisure market and there can be advantages to having all your electronics from one brand.

Out of interest what was the "failure mode" on the SH units? Was it obvious before you needed it?
I had 3 Raymarine Ray55 vhf's fail on me, I gave up in the end & went back to Icom.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 August 2015, 12:21   #30
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinyShoe View Post
OK So on the Home Screen -> Configuration -> Communications -> Serial 1

Set the NMEA Standard not Garmin or High Speed.

**AND**

Home Screen -> Configure -> Communications -> NMEA Setup

3 coloured wires + 1 earth doesn't stack up right...unless you are including the 12V red in that mix. It should be 4 wires for 2 way traffic, but actually one of them is a joint earth so 3 would work.

Wiring: Looks like the ground uses the common ground. So red to +12V, Black to 0V on power. Blue OUT from GPS , BROWN IN to GPS. So you don't need brown to get a signal on the radio but it should take a DSC pos from the radio (e.g a distress alert) and plot it. You could try sticking a voltmeter across Black and Blue and see if it shows any sign of life... Ignore grey and voilet.

Not sure what SH DSC set you have but could be that you connect:

Black on Garmin to: Green on Radio
Blue on Garmin to: Blue of Radio
and for two directional traffic:
Grey on Garmin to Grey on Radio
Black on Garmin to Brown on Radio

You could in theory drop the Brown Radio and Green Radio off to any 0V/GND/Negative connection thats handy and it be picked up by the Black at the other end. As things are playing up I'd run a specific wire while testing.

Your radio colours may vary. The SH radio may also need told to listen (need model to know).

There isn't anything simple like an order of trunring things on that has differed? i.e. plotter before radio or vice versa?

All sorted now, there was just a bad earth wire. Got the GPS positions up on the radio now. Thanks .Shinyshoe for your advice!
__________________

__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.