Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 12 August 2015, 16:56   #11
Member
 
ashbypower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salisbury/Poole
Boat name: Blue C
Make: XS 600
Length: 6m +
Engine: 125hp Opti
MMSI: 235082826/235909566
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,439
Either of these are excellent we run both Icom and SH and have brilliant service both from the sets and the manufacturer.
__________________

__________________
Brian C
Harbour Sea School & APS Marine Centre
ashbypower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2015, 03:32   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: North Lincs
Boat name: Clam Chowder
Make: Humber
Length: 5m +
Engine: 85 Yam
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 43
I've just got a new Icom IC-M423G with built-in GPS, much easier to use than the old M411.
__________________

__________________
Boatintercoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2015, 18:21   #13
RIBnet supporter
 
gotchiguy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dinard, Brittany
Boat name: Into the Red
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude E-tec 250HO
MMSI: 235 076 114
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,948
RIBase
SH HX851 is good, but battery life isn't the greatest. I think the HX751 is a brilliant radio if you don't need the DSC capability.

Floating matters!
__________________
gotchiguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2015, 05:15   #14
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Icon for me. Fixed and portable hand-held. Quality kit. Built in GPS would be useful if you can afford.
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2015, 06:30   #15
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Dalmeny
Make: zodiac
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 628
icom, never had any problems with them yet.

Jon
__________________
jonp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2015, 10:11   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I have had a couple of older ICOMs fail over the years, each time I have phoned them and they have replaced them with no issue. Excellent customer service.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2015, 10:36   #17
Member
 
spartacus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Aberdeenshire
Boat name: Sula
Make: Ribcraft 4.8m
Length: 4m +
Engine: Tohatsu 60hp + aux
MMSI: 235087213
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,270
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by spartacus View Post
Icon for me. Fixed and portable hand-held. Quality kit. Built in GPS would be useful if you can afford.
Icom even. Thank you predictive text!
__________________
Is that with or without VAT?
spartacus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:06   #18
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
We have a standard horizon fixed dsc. It's stopped communicating with the Garmin GPS for some reason? I.e. no position on the radio screen. Checked the wiring, all appears OK, anyone got any idea what the problem is?
__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:21   #19
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2,251
Has the Garmin dropped out of NMEA mode? Garmins often talk in their own code by default. So could it have reverted to that and as a result the SH can't understand what's coming in...?

Failing that - you probably need to put the data into a COM port on a laptop / PC and see if there is any data coming in?
__________________
ShinyShoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 August 2015, 17:28   #20
Member
 
Johnscubanut's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Beds/South coast
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 115
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 294
That could be the problem I guess? Although I don't really understand it? Thanks anyway Shinyshoe.
__________________

__________________
Johnscubanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.