Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22 January 2008, 16:25   #1
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,008
VHF Radio interference

I have just fitted a V Tronics Rib Raider aerial to my RIB after the old SILVA wip broke at the base.

The old Aerial seemed to work well and I always had good reception however I am a little uncertain about the new RibRaider.

When out on Sunday playing in the Severn with MattH we tried a few tests and I headed away from him transmitting and receiving test messages on ch75 on low power (1Watt) to test the signal. I noticed that before I lost site of him about half a mile away I was starting to find the reception quite poor with a lot of static. I then found that if I switched off the engine I got a much clearer signal.

I then tried Bristol VTS on ch12 again on 1W and they said they could hear me loud and clear and I could hear them quite well.

So whats the SP with engine interference does it only kick in with a weak signal.

Is it Matts radio that is at fault perhaps. He certainly did not recieve radio traffic when we were in the lock whilst I did, again he is using a RibRaider.

Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 January 2008, 20:04   #2
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Could be all sorts of things - electronic equipment on board such as chart plotter etc but alternators can play havoc. It could be the new aerial is more sensative. And yes a weak signal is easily swamped.

codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 January 2008, 04:04   #3
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,538
'tis but a thought that if you swapped from one raider to a new one, I assume you used the same connector into the base? Is it worth removing it, cutting the wire back half an inch to get to the "clean" copper & making a fresh connection? I say that 'coz I guess if you broke the old raider, then there's every chance that water has got in via the top and started to corrode something.
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 January 2008, 08:46   #4
havener's Avatar
Country: UK - England
Town: Far west!
Boat name: Vigilant
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: 90hp
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 505
Worth checking the engine earth as well.
havener is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.