Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 August 2010, 05:14   #1
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Hesperange
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75HP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 170
VHF radio in dashboard

Hi,

Could you please give any advise (or tell how you do it) how to mount VHF radio (midland Neptune 100) on dashboard in my console?

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
zubol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2010, 05:49   #2
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Hesperange
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75HP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 170
VHF Radio

Hi,

Could you please give any advise (or tell how you do it) how to mount VHF radio (midland Neptune 100) on dashboard in my console?

Thank you.
__________________

__________________
zubol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2010, 06:32   #3
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
You'll need a "flush mounting kit" before you start which I assume is available for that radio, though they don't usually come with most models - certainly with Icom etc it is an optional extra. Other than that it's basically a case of cutting a hole (there is probably a template and instructions for this with the kit) and fitting it in with the brackets in the kit which go onto the radio behind the console.
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2010, 08:37   #4
Member
 
Country: Luxembourg
Town: Hesperange
Make: Searider 5.4
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha 75HP
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 170
Thanks Stephen Any idea where I can buy it? I've tried google but everywhere is "out of stock".
__________________
zubol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2010, 08:47   #5
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
You'll need a "flush mounting kit" certainly with Icom etc it is an optional extra.
They put the brackets needed in with it all now.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2010, 08:54   #6
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,926
RIBase
All most mounting kits do is push the radio back from the inside surface of the console, generally using a pair of bolts with a spreader at the end. You should be able to cobble something together without too much trouble (incorporate the surface mount kit that c/w the set?) and use some sikka to seal the set into the console.

Personally, I'd cut the existing mount in two and remake the bends to face the inside surface and drill out new bolt holes, use a ss bolt and a few nuts and washers to complete.
__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 August 2010, 03:46   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
They ae normally held in with a metal clamp on either side once you have cut out the correct size aperture. Templates are sometimes supplied with the VHF.
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 August 2010, 03:54   #8
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,114
When you mount it, make sure its easy to get back out again when you decide to replace it with a better one.
__________________
Poly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 August 2010, 06:26   #9
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
Quote:
Originally Posted by Polwart View Post
When you mount it, make sure its easy to get back out again when you decide to replace it with a better one.
That sounds like a polite way of saying the radio is a bit poo
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 August 2010, 06:33   #10
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,926
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by BogMonster View Post
That sounds like a polite way of saying the radio is a bit poo
I was going to suggest that if the Midland had a large footprint, then possibly cutting a temporary hole that big might not be such a good plan...

But I'm more diplomatic than Polwart, so I didn't.
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.