Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 05 September 2011, 14:33   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Winchester
Boat name: Raven
Make: Westerly 33/Avon 310
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercedes 42 Toh9.8
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 266
VHF Antenna Cable

Hi Guys

Fitting a VHF to my rib and after some advice on making the cable long enough to reach from the console to the A bar.

I bought a Shakespeare 4400 antenna that only has 5 mtr of cable and I need about six mtr.

Could some knowledgeable soul point me in the right direction on where to buy more cable and what connectors I need so I can minimise the reduction of signal strength.

Thanks

Toby
__________________

__________________
Ribtecer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 September 2011, 17:06   #2
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
take it back to place you bought it and get longer cable version! every connection causes loss in signal...

S.
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 September 2011, 17:19   #3
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR View Post
take it back to place you bought it and get longer cable version! every connection causes loss in signal...
+1

Or even better buy one that doesn't have a cable factory fitted, makes removal/replacement much easier, eg Metz, Pacific, Comrod etc
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 September 2011, 19:08   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lancashire , Scotland
Boat name: TARKA
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: 3.3,75
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 196
Its VHF , Use PL259 plugs and a back to back connector , However these are bulky , but any power loss will be neglagable.

You can use BNC plugs , these are smaller but more fiddly if you havent fitted them before.

The Ideal way is to strip the cables and solder the joint , But thats how the pro's do it

Either way Use RG58 , 50 ohm coax for the extension piece , Its multi-strand and flexable., and available in Black or White.

Hope this helps a little.
__________________
Alzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 September 2011, 05:11   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 54
Yes, the cable is probably RG58 which is a 5mm cable, very lossy but tolerable for short runs. So, a piece of RG58, two PL259's and a barrel connector (PL258) are required. Put a PL259 on each end of the new cable, one end goes into the radio and the other into the barrel connector. The existing PL259 goes into the other end of the barrel connector. Keep the new cable as short as possible.
RG58 has losses of 5dB per 30m. A 3dB losses halves the output power. So keep the extension as short as you can.
__________________
Salty John is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.