Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 April 2009, 15:34   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
VHF Aerials and E-tec engines

On the continuing issue of VHF Aerials. I have noticed with both my E-tecs that the quality of signal I receive on the VHF degrades massively when the ignition is switched on.

This happend on my last Viper and now the Vmax.

I have seen this issue raised on another forum dedicated to the E-tec range and it seems that this is a common problem.

If I am using the VHF with the engine off I get nice strong and clear signal yet as soon as the ignition key is turned you get loads of interference even if you don't actually start the motor.

I think this is down to the electronic Fuel pump and / or possibly the EMM.

I know that all modern engines now have a lot of electronics wizzing away inside and clearly this is going to be causing problems.

Chris
__________________

__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 April 2009, 16:48   #2
RIBnet admin team
 
willk's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Make: Redbay Boats
Length: 9m +
Engine: 370hp
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 12,924
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
On the continuing issue of VHF Aerials. I have noticed with both my E-tecs that the quality of signal I receive on the VHF degrades massively when the ignition is switched on.

Chris
I can't say I've noticed this with my pair of 90s. Does the interference actually break squelch or is it degradation of other incoming signal?
__________________

__________________
willk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 April 2009, 17:27   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: porthcawl
Make: lomac
Length: 4m +
Engine: evinrude 40 etec o/b
MMSI: 235069383
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
I have a etec 40 and i have never noticed any problem,but now i will be looking for one
__________________
greenkeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 02:53   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Problem Solved

I re routed the aerial cable down the other side of the boat away from the engine wiring harness this seems to have completely solved the problem.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 03:16   #5
GED
Member
 
GED's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: CONWY/CORFU
Boat name: The Full Morty II
Make: Air Craft/Shakespere
Length: 8m +
Engine: Etec 300hp/Etec150hp
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 603
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I re routed the aerial cable down the other side of the boat away from the engine wiring harness this seems to have completely solved the problem.

This is now why we build our ribs with 2 runs of trunking, one for electronics and the other for the engine.
__________________
GED is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 04:21   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Yes I had two trunks but did not think to route the VHF down the correct one.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 06:03   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by GED View Post
This is now why we build our ribs with 2 runs of trunking, one for electronics and the other for the engine.
Osprey also have two ducts. As Liverpool P/Boats rigged mine, Ian used the stbd duct to send all the motor related stuff down, we shoved the rest down the prt duct.
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 06:47   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post
Osprey also have two ducts. As Liverpool P/Boats rigged mine, Ian used the stbd duct to send all the motor related stuff down, we shoved the rest down the prt duct.
Who's 'we' ?
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 April 2009, 07:23   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Who's 'we' ?
I pulled on your string.
__________________

__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.