Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 April 2007, 11:41   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
using a Garmin 178C fishfinder

I have a Garmin 178C with the dual frequency fishfinder fitted. I ahve read the book but am still a little in the dark into how the fishfinder should be set up and how to get the bet out of it.

Anyone in the know?

Chris
__________________

__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 12:06   #2
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
I don't think anyone has ever actually seen a fish on a fishfinder.

I heard that someone had once but I think they were bulls***ing.
__________________

__________________
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 13:14   #3
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Moore View Post
I don't think anyone has ever actually seen a fish on a fishfinder.

I heard that someone had once but I think they were bulls***ing.
No! I've definately got Fish on my fishinder. They're grey in colour and move from right to left in demo mode
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	garmin-fishfinder-120.jpg
Views:	601
Size:	27.3 KB
ID:	26400  
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 13:57   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Make: HumberOceanOffshore
Length: 8m +
Engine: Volvo KAD300/DPX
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Moore View Post
I don't think anyone has ever actually seen a fish on a fishfinder.
Are you being serious?
__________________
JW.
jwalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 14:19   #5
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Brilliant bits of kit, we even get a little diver swim across the screen when someone swims under the rib
__________________
.
Ribnet is best viewed on a computer of some sort
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 16:12   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: mansfield
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via MSN to osprey__viper
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Moore View Post
I don't think anyone has ever actually seen a fish on a fishfinder.

I heard that someone had once but I think they were bulls***ing.
Hmmmmm must have had mine set up wrong then.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	fish.JPG
Views:	183
Size:	59.9 KB
ID:	26402  
__________________
osprey__viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 April 2007, 17:08   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
chris, they should work really well, will pm you
__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2007, 06:52   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Make: Aquaflyte
Length: 6m +
Engine: Merc 90 2Str
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 414
Chris

Have you tried it on the water? I found that with pretty much the default settings I was able to get a good read out of fish etc. However if you have a tweak with the sonar pane within the main menu you can "fine tune" to get best possible performance as well as f@rting around with the display issues (e.g. whether you have a little number alongside the fish etc)

Drop me a PM if you need more info

Andrew
__________________
AndrewH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2007, 07:20   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Andrew I found that if I had the Fish Symbol option turned on I saw a number of fish but when I turned this off and looked for the arches that signify fish I did not see a single one. I think the fish symbol generated quite a lot of false fish!
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2007, 10:10   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Bristol
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,194
what it will pick up is floating debris and make out its a fish
__________________

__________________
matt h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.