Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 25 July 2009, 13:18   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Raven
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 suzuki
MMSI: 235040525
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Under floor cables

I've been changing the transducer on the rib,I managed to get the new cable pulled through under the floor using the pull through Ribcraft left in place,great..however in my enthusiasm to get the pull cord back through to repeat the process for the GPS cable, I had brain fade regarding the method to employ in recovering the pull through cable to it's original place, and thought whipping twine would be strong enough... it snapped with the rope only inches from the exit pipe...

So what I'm after is any pearls of wisdom re the way to get it out..I'm at a bit of a loss.

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
.
IBWET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2009, 13:28   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: INVERURIE
Boat name: Ranger
Make: Ribcraft 5.45
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90 HP Outboard
MMSI: 235010772
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
In a similar situation I fed some garden hose in and just gently kept pushing back an forwards until it popped out the other end then tied some strong string to the hose to act as a pull through.
__________________

__________________
Grasshopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2009, 14:29   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Raven
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 suzuki
MMSI: 235040525
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grasshopper View Post
In a similar situation I fed some garden hose in and just gently kept pushing back an forwards until it popped out the other end then tied some strong string to the hose to act as a pull through.
Thanks Grasshopper,

just managed it with the hose,I put some washing up liq down the hose after it stuck a few times,on the basis that gravity would deliver the stuff to the blockage if you waited ..and it did..
__________________
.
IBWET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 July 2009, 14:58   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: INVERURIE
Boat name: Ranger
Make: Ribcraft 5.45
Length: 5m +
Engine: 90 HP Outboard
MMSI: 235010772
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 78
Sorry should have mentioned that, I used olive oil as a lubricant.
Glad your sorted.
__________________
Grasshopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 00:36   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
How big is the duct?
If it's big, use a fish tape (available at any electrical supply place) to get through, and pull in a new pull-string.

If it's fairly small, tie a small piece of cloth to a new nylon line, attach a vacuum cleaner (the more powerful the better) to the opening (lots of duct tape will help direct the suck) and see if you can pull the cloth through.

Once that's in, pull out the cable that's stuck, tie that and a new pull-string to the installed line, and start pulling.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 07:00   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Raven
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 suzuki
MMSI: 235040525
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by jyasaki View Post
How big is the duct?
If it's big, use a fish tape (available at any electrical supply place) to get through, and pull in a new pull-string.

If it's fairly small, tie a small piece of cloth to a new nylon line, attach a vacuum cleaner (the more powerful the better) to the opening (lots of duct tape will help direct the suck) and see if you can pull the cloth through.

Once that's in, pull out the cable that's stuck, tie that and a new pull-string to the installed line, and start pulling.

jky
I can see both ways working, however my problem had an additional element to it; the hose about 4" is presently full of cables from the engine etc.

I initially tried the tape measure (if that's what your suggesting by fish tape) and couldn't get it through, I'll try to remember the second method though that's a goodun for new installs...
__________________
.
IBWET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 14:21   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Angel-B
Make: Ex Y boat
Length: 3m +
Engine: Suzuki 9.9HP
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 584
Quote:
Originally Posted by IBWET View Post
I initially tried the tape measure (if that's what your suggesting by fish tape) and couldn't get it through, I'll try to remember the second method though that's a goodun for new installs...
Fish tape is different to a tape measure - it is also called draw tape or draw wire. it will work much better than a tape measure - I have this one:

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=2368162

and it works a treat

There are some more examples here:

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...h+wire&x=0&y=0

and a slightly different system here:

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Ind...ods/index.html

Cheers

Chris
__________________
chris123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 July 2009, 16:47   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Ayrshire
Boat name: Raven
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 suzuki
MMSI: 235040525
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 653
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris123 View Post
Fish tape is different to a tape measure - it is also called draw tape or draw wire. it will work much better than a tape measure - I have this one:

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...duct&R=2368162

and it works a treat

There are some more examples here:

http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...h+wire&x=0&y=0

and a slightly different system here:

http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Ind...ods/index.html

Cheers

Chris
Thanks Chris,

One on order.
__________________
.
IBWET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2009, 11:53   #9
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Fish tapes we have here are usually either some sort of spring steel or a long fiberglass rod. The steel ones are stronger, but can also abrade existing cables. The glass ones are bulkier, but easier on existing cables.

Both usually have a means of attaching the cable to be pulled: glass ones usually have a screw-on slotted tip; the steel ones usually have a loop formed in the material.

Different situations call for different tools, but, of course, you usually end up using what you've already got.

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 July 2009, 12:09   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
I use the wire that's sold for net curtains, with the eyelet screwed into the end it's perfect for a bit of "pull through"
__________________

__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.