Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 July 2015, 15:00   #1
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Trim gauge

The read out on my yamaha showing the trim position of the engine has stopped on the two low bars what can I look at?
__________________

__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 July 2015, 15:46   #2
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Sender unit on yoke would be my first port of call.
__________________

__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 July 2015, 15:47   #3
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
OK I will have a look. Thanks
__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2015, 05:04   #4
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Town: Copenhagen
Boat name: SUS III
Make: Zodiac SRMN 600 noir
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard, Yamaha 115
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 12
Trim Gauge

There should be a connector inside the engine. Disconnect. If you have a ohm meter, check the resistance by turning the wheel on the yoke. Compare with the expected resistance.
__________________
holtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2015, 05:08   #5
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
I found the culprit, the trim sender was frozen in the lower position bit of lube good to go apart from the gauge now shows 2 bars as the lowest position. Is it possible to reset it?
__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 July 2015, 03:40   #6
Member
 
boristhebold's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,293
If it anything like my set up on my yamaha the trim sender unit has a small arm which rests against a type of bracket which is fixed to the bar the engine tilts from, these brackets have a tendancy to break or shift position, sometimes if you tilt the engine all the way up the arm of the sender unit can 'go over' the bracket stop which it moves against.

In your case if its showing two bars I expect the bracket things may have shifted slightly.

Get really close to the outboard and locate the bracket thing the sender unit moves against and check its position, there is one screw undo the screw slightly and move its position (rotate the bracket slightly) trial and error and you should get it in a better position and re tighten.

They are a pain, ive replaced one sender unit and one bracket in past 6 years and had to re position the bracket twice (usually after work was done on my outboard and hydralics) cos if your not careful the bracket can move.
__________________
boristhebold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31 July 2015, 04:35   #7
Member
 
maxg's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: london
Boat name: Yo-Yo
Make: Ribeye
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha 300
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Thanks I didn't know that it is adjustable I will give it a fiddle.
__________________

__________________
maxg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.