Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 October 2007, 14:45   #1
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Transducer swap

All

just thought I'd let you know the findings of a fishfinder transducer swap I tested today.

I've been a little dissapointed with the performance of the transom mounted transducer I fitted when I upgraded my electronics earlier in the year.

The old Garmin one was fine at moderate speeds, and only ever flipped up once when the RIB was beached.
The new Airmar(P66) one I fitted with my Raymarine digital FF flipped up on most trips and was very inconsistant at speed, although of course when it worked the digital FF was great.

I considered glueing the P66 inside the hull as others have done, but got the chance to do it properly with a P79 in hull jobbie.
Friday afternoon I bonded the housing into the hull right at the stern in the small bilge well I have, then Saturday I filled it with Castor oil and added the transducer itself.

Whilst mucking about in the harbour this morning before the cruise I took some soundings with the P66 the swapped the DSM connection over to the P79.

I got almost exactly the same depth recorded, and am very pleased to report that I did not loose the signal at all during the whole trip to Yarmouth and back. even at over 40 knots. There also didn't appear to be any differance in the quality of the data.

When I recovered the RIB at the Camber this evening, the P66 was of course pointing skyward despite the calm seas we had today.
Never again will I fit a Transom mount transducer or worry about the loss of data quality by shooting through the hull.

All I need to do now is remove the P66 and make good the mounting holes.

Nasher.
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 15:04   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Seashell
Make: Redbay
Length: 7m +
Engine: Inboard diesel
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 5,263
This is interesting, as mine doesn't work much above about 20 knots. I noticed today that the transducor on Merlin has been moved from the transom which is where Solent put them to the bilge well. Looks like I will have to add this to my winter to do list.
__________________

__________________
Tim M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 17:37   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Scillies
Boat name: Freedom
Make: Searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 2st 90
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 335
Does anyone know if you can fit a through hull transducer in the inner hull of a sea rider?

Just a thought for winter tinkering.

Thanks

Ian
__________________
walruz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 19:17   #4
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Does that mean I have to cut yet another hole in my Vipermax
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 19:27   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Has anyone every removed a transom mounted tranducer and mounted it inside the hull and it worked OK ? Yes, I know how to do it.
Thanks.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 19:41   #6
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Yes there where some threads about doing just that. Was some time ago, I guess if I wasn't so tired I would do a search


I think they encased the transducer in silkoflex or something.
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 19:45   #7
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Yes there where some threads about doing just that. Was some time ago, I guess if I wasn't so tired I would do a search


I think they encased the transducer in silkoflex or something.
OK not so lazy:

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...sducer+sealant
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 19:59   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hightower View Post
Thanks Hightower, that was great. Really appreciate your effort.
From one lazy bugger to another.
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 October 2007, 20:10   #9
Member
 
Hightower's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Fareham
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 7,855
Whilst still thinking for a name for the RIB, I did ponder "Bone Idle"
__________________
Andy

Looks Slow but is Fast
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Hightower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2007, 03:20   #10
Member
 
Country: Australia
Town: Melbourne
Make: Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF140
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 181
Hi Andy, Would the transducer fit into the small boxes at the rear of the Osprey? I was thinking it would be out of sight, out of trouble?

Navman have a (expensive) through hull transducer that is designed to fit on the hull angle, so that would get around the problem of needing to set it horizontally.
__________________

__________________
Apherel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 15:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.