Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 August 2013, 10:45   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Transducer placement question

I have a Raymarine Dragonfly which comes with a huge (8" long - oh err) transom transducer. Raymarine recommend that this is mounted so that it just skims the water without interference/bubbles from the hull/prop etc. However as I'm putting this on my Zodiac FR340 the transom bounces all over the place even at anchor. So I'm thinking that mounting it so that it is submerged an inch or 2 under water would be best? Any reason why I shouldn't?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 August 2013, 11:00   #2
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Yes. The reason is it may not work very well, which is why they recommend otherwise. There's a possibility of the arm that's used to mount it causing interference (causing bubbles under the ducer.)

Dunno; best thing to do would be to mount it to a board or similar which you can clamp to the transom and experiment with different depths and locations.

jky
__________________

__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 August 2013, 08:18   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 118
Thanks. That makes sense.
__________________
Flyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 09:27   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: Wildheart
Make: Humber/Delta Seasafe
Length: 5m +
Engine: Merc 60 Clamshell
MMSI: 235068449
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,610
+1 for the clamp.

I took 3 goes to mount my 'ducer, and it ended up a good 1.5" above where the book of words hinted I should start!
__________________
9D280 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2013, 22:05   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Boston
Boat name: Floating RIB
Make: AB
Length: 4m +
Engine: 98 Johnson 3cyl 35hp
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 25
Sorry to 'jack this post but it seems like the perfect spot for my similar question...

I bought a Lowrance Mark 4 pro and bought a suction cup transom mount. I've tried various positions on the transom and angles, not to mention setting on the unit itself.

I've never achieved full fish archs, or it's loaded with surface clutter. I'm not sure if the unit is no good, if I'm placing it wrong, or if the the hull just isn't conducive to this. It's only 13 feet so it's hard to get the transducer far from the engine, plus there is a lot of drag on the fiberglass and pontoons from various patchwork.

anyone have advice or should I just return the unit and catch fish the old fashioned way?

thanks!
__________________
porkpiehat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 August 2013, 05:14   #6
Member
 
freespirit3's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Midlands
Boat name: Freespirit
Make: Redbay
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 358
Transducer

Just make sure you keep it out of the hull chine lines to the prop, I did this once many years ago and caused me havoc with cavitation.

Nearly bought a new prop it was that bad, retraced my steps from previous years holiday and use, moved the transducer and voila the boat was ok.

Only worked at slow speed but it was a good compromise.
__________________

__________________
freespirit3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.