Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 17 September 2012, 12:01   #1
Member
 
tonto's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Zummerset
Boat name: irven arlyss
Make: Humber Oceanpro
Length: 6m +
Engine: evinrude 135hp
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 394
Transducer mount??

When I took the boat out for the 1st time, I noticed that the Echo Sounder would only work when the boat was stopped completely.

i took a pic of the problem, the transducer was installed by a "Professional" contracted by the previous owner!

I am thinking of pulling it off and mounting it in the bilge well.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	transducer.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	205.6 KB
ID:	72255  
__________________

__________________
tonto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 12:07   #2
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
That's made my day that has, hilarious!!

Sent from my portable speaking device using Rib.net
__________________

__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 12:08   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
silicon it onto the drain well floor...make sure no bubbles. If ya want to try it first just put the transducer in the well and praps weight it down a bit or wedge it and then try it out. But you need to put a loada water in the well to cover the transducer face whatever angle the boat maybe at.
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 13:25   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
C2 RIBS's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hants
Boat name: Gemineye
Make: Ribeye S850 charter
Length: 8m +
Engine: 300hp
MMSI: 235097445
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,029
We have transom mounts and all are at the bottom and they can be affected by water flow but they do need to be fixed down low, not up high
__________________
Ian
Rib charter and Rib hire with www.c2ribs.co.uk
C2 RIBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 14:09   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
Dont silicone it. use epoxy resin as silicone wont give you a good signal as it absorbs the sound waves.
__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 14:54   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
Quote:
Dont silicone it. use epoxy resin as silicone wont give you a good signal as it absorbs the sound waves.
well thats theory. And its what the manuals say but:
I dont do theory !!
From far too many years of time spent boating globally.
I'm giving you the real world experience.
It works absolutely fine. Less messy and much more easily removed esp if you make a !*!* up of it and leave an air bubble in or put it in what you find subsequently is an inconvenient place. Or you want to sell the boat and keep the sounder. Epoxy it and its there for ever.
All our boat angling club boats have been fixed like this for years with no problem, and they use their boats here and in Scotland and Ireland relying on the sounders for new fishing marks.
My training boat(s) have all been so fixed and the sounders still work faultlessly at full speed.
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 15:04   #7
Member
 
tonto's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Zummerset
Boat name: irven arlyss
Make: Humber Oceanpro
Length: 6m +
Engine: evinrude 135hp
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 394
Thanks guys,

I will mount it in the well, have done a search and seen other posts on it, so am happy to go for it.

I will prob silicon it in to find the best place, and see if it works, and after that probably epoxy it in, as I doubt I will be selling the boat for a while, as I really really like it

Thought it might give a few people a giggle though.

Gary
__________________
tonto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 17:01   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Make: Ribtec 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: 115
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 87
I have the same issue but discounted the well as there is a void between the floor of the well and the hull , thought this would be a problem , what am i missing ? Was thinking i would have to mount under the floor ( involves cutting ) on the hull ? I have a Ribtec 585 .
Any pointers gratefully taken on board ... literally !
__________________
viking61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 17:44   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
I have a ribtec 535.
the sump on mine is the outer hull or at least doent have any air void.
Transducer sits in the well and just works through the hull.
Epoxied in and one good tap to remove and replace if needed. did when I got my new sounder
__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 September 2012, 18:18   #10
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 217
Not sure if you saw the thread where I had a similar problem with a depth and speed transducer. With some advice from rubber, the problem was cured by mounting it lower on the transom.

If you are going internal, on yachts they fill the well with cooking oil to get a good transmission between transducer and hull. Really !
__________________

__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.