Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 06 August 2006, 18:58   #1
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego.California
Boat name: Bayshots
Make: XS-550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF90
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 876
Transducer fix?

Getting really tired of the transom mount transducer on my RIB.
I had the bottom alarm set at 5ft to give me warning in the Bay if I was getting too shallow. Started churning mud the other day and the alarm hadnt even gone off
Seems no matter what I do, it either gets too much turbulance or "kicks up"the first time I jump a wave.
So read all the "extensive" posts on this subject and seems the only way to go is fix it inside the hull.
Problem is my sump has a void underneath it.
So pulled the bung and collar this afternoon and threw a lightstick with a string attached to it inside the hull.
Have about 16" from the transom to the first bulkhead.
So thinking about using a 4"hole saw to cut a hole in the bottom of the sump,to access the hull and fix the transducer in place.
I can seal the hole with a ABS deck plate with O ring seal to make it watertight.
Only tricky part I see is sealing the transducer wire in to avoid leaks;but silicone should cure that.
So has anyone done similar and if so did yiou hit any snags or do you see any issues in doing that ??
Getting frustrating having nice electronics and not being able to rely on it.
cheers Dal
__________________

__________________
www.Bayshots.com
limeydal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2006, 19:58   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
transducer problems

Hi Dal.
Watch out. Trying to cut a 4 inch hole in GRP with a hand held drill is nigh on impossible and you could end up hurting yourself if you use a big enough power tool. Basically it cannot be done. Also consider that a decent 4 inch hole saw is going to cost you about 100 bucks. However you could use a jigsaw but ???? Is there any other place on your boat that you can easily access the outer hull? It does not have to be at the stern, and running a wire is easier than what you have planned.
regards, T.
__________________

__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2006, 20:50   #3
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego.California
Boat name: Bayshots
Make: XS-550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF90
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 876
Hi Limey,
unfortunately this is about the only place feasible
Deck pretty well sealed up and didnt want to risk hitting the wiring looms further forward. Also not sure of the bulkeads and strengthening ribs further forward, that I may hit.
Have a good set of hole saws(spent 15yrs in engineering Maint) and know what you mean about the difficulties (and torque) involved Extremely slow speed and dead square to the workpiece
Have put this off for ages as couldnt see an easier option.( Might consider using a rototool with a round template to guide it smooth instead then.)
I was more concerned with making the wiring penetration waterproof.Any good methods?
cheers Limey
__________________
www.Bayshots.com
limeydal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2006, 21:49   #4
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: San Carlos, Mexico
Boat name: INDE
Make: LOMAC 730
Length: 7m +
Engine: 200 Merc.
MMSI: Please press 1
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,688
Send a message via Skype™ to Limey Linda
Roto tool sounds better . Sorry about the safety advice etc. you obviously know what you are doing. Silicone does not stick to GRP well. Suggest epoxy putty ( but that is kinda permanent) or poly adhesive such as one of the Liguid Nails products from Home depot. Make sure you provide a service loop in the cable below the plate. Maybe you can find a small enough gland fitting for the cable size ?????

Best of luck. Tony
__________________
Running around like a head with it's chicken cut off.
Limey Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06 August 2006, 23:44   #5
CAH
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego
Make: Zodiac SRMN
Length: 6m +
Engine: Outboard 130hp
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 38
You are welcome to borrow my RotoZip tool, cheaper to borrow than purchase.
__________________
CAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2006, 01:14   #6
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego.California
Boat name: Bayshots
Make: XS-550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF90
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 876
Thanks CAH,
but have one. Think I should own shares in Home Depot or so my wife says.
Cut the hole in today with the hole saw and went fine.Just took it nice and slow and frequently cleaned the teeth on the hole saw.Sealed the ply with epoxy resin and will leave to dry overnight before installing the trim ring.
The hull flattens at the transom and forms a nice surface to atach the transducer to.
Now ;silicone or Epoxy?? That is the question
cheers Dal
__________________
www.Bayshots.com
limeydal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2006, 08:49   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Use a normal deck gland for the cable. You should have no problem with the hole saw, do it all the time
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2006, 08:59   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Too late to be of any use now but maybe it would have been easier to use a through hull transducer? You could have drilled a hole right through the hull from the outside to install it although you would still have to get at the inside of course. Through hull gives you better performance than a shoot through.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2006, 14:28   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: solent
Boat name: wilson
Make: jeanneau merryfisher
Length: 5m +
Engine: suzuki df 70hp
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 70
silicone now try it out it is the removeable. Epoxy if you are happy with position and results?
__________________
antiqueboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 August 2006, 00:49   #10
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: San Diego.California
Boat name: Bayshots
Make: XS-550
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF90
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 876
Antiqueboy,
agree with your logic
Cut the hole, and bought a through deck cable fitting for the wire.
However was going to be a pain to pull the wire back and get it through the gland.
So opted for the easy way out and cut a slot to the outside of the flange.Siliconed it in and then once the flange is in,will apply another build up around the wire of more silicone.
Transducer set in a thin layer of silicone and flange just placed on until everything sets up.
Flange takes a 4" screw in deck plate with O ring seal, so should be pretty watertight.
cheers Dal
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00001 (Small).JPG
Views:	180
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	21422   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00003 (Small).JPG
Views:	160
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	21423   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00005 (Small).JPG
Views:	176
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	21424   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00007 (Small).JPG
Views:	154
Size:	35.9 KB
ID:	21425  
__________________

__________________
www.Bayshots.com
limeydal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.