Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 26 April 2004, 15:14   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Transducer Fitting

I need some help/advice, I have got to fit a new transducer, through hull, however there is an old one from an Echopilot already fitted. I have removed the Echopilot (its crap) and would really quite like to fit the new transducer in the same place, there has been wood cut and laminated in to ensure that it sits level, however the old hole is 60mm and the new one is to be 51mm
Any Ideas other than putting in a new hole? would Sikaflex do the trick?? or any other ideas

If possible I would like to be able to refit fairley quickly as I am getting a lift out and hold overnight as I need the boat to be available 24/7 and cant have it out any longer..............it's never simple.
Andy
__________________

__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 15:29   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Portsmouth
Boat name: Sting
Make: Tornado 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yam 200 HPDI
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 637
Send a message via MSN to Andy
Whatever you use make sure you minimise the air bubbles between the solid hull and the transducer. That means a layer of your resin or eppoxy first then sit the transducer on it. It must not be a dry interface. Bubbles will cause noise on the screen. I think other may be best at suggesting what substance you use so I will leave that to them.
__________________

__________________
Andy

www.badviz.com
Andy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 15:35   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Hi, Yes Sikaflex should do the trick. Also worth considering pluging the hole and mounting the transducer inside the hull, this way it will not get damaged and the front face will not cause turbulance and thus poor performance at higher speeds. To fit it inside the hull you can silicone it straight to the hull but be carefull not to get any air traped and do not use Sikaflex for this as you will never move it again if you need to. Or bond the end cap of a soil waste pipe to the hull and fill with 50/50 water anti-freeze mix and suspend the TDCR in it, min half inch from hull as air can get traped between the two surfaces.
Good luck,
Mark
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 16:47   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Both marknj & Andy obviously misread your post, assuming your transducer is through hull and doesn't just shoot through the hull.

A through hull transducer needs to be sealed with a "sikaflex" type adhesive/sealent, silicone should only be used above the waterline.

You need to either cut a new hole, or as the old hole needs to be filled, you could do this and then re-cut a smaller hole in the same place.

Out of interest, a "shoot" through the hull transducer should be installed with epoxy!

If you wanted to suspend the transducer in liquid, do as marknj suggests, but I would reccommend filling it with as light mineral oil.
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 16:52   #5
Member
 
Pete7's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gosport
Boat name: April Lass
Make: Moody 31
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 4,850
Agree with Dirk (for once) the water pressure under a hull at speed is somehting like 80 lbs sq inch! You are going to either fill that in and cut a new hole or perhaps have an engineering firm make a collett out of stainless steel to fill the hole in and take the new sounder.

Do a search for Portchester engineering they have some nice lathes which could do that.

Pete
__________________
Pete7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 17:06   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Just to clarify my last post.

Yes never use silicone for any type of skin fitting. But you can use use it to bond a transducer to the inside of a hull in the same way as epoxy. Have done this many times with no problem but still prefur the water & anti-freeze route. Oil used to be used but now all installations we do use water and anti-freeze, again with no problems and much cleaner when I spill it! I have used this method on all types of sounder/transducer from small 90 Garmins to 3-4K Furuno units.

Mark.
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 17:08   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete7
Agree with Dirk (for once) Pete

__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 17:24   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
OK call me stupid, but what stops this water/antifreeze from sloshing straight out of the "soil waste pipe end" the very first time you use the RIB???

I'm missing something i know...
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 April 2004, 17:30   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Penzance
Boat name: Dark Angel
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5.85
Engine: Mariner 90HP Four Stroke
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 116
Hi,
the soil pipe end cap comes with a seal.

Another tip is to put a little grease on the seal and a 3mm hole in the cap to let the air out when you put it on then put a ss self tapper in the hole

Mark
__________________
marknj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 April 2004, 04:01   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by marknj
Hi,
the soil pipe end cap comes with a seal.

Another tip is to put a little grease on the seal and a 3mm hole in the cap to let the air out when you put it on then put a ss self tapper in the hole

Mark
I have just done this with the tranducer for a Raymarine ST40. I used an 82mm Access plug (Osma part no. 3S.292 - 10.24) cut down and epoxied to inside of hull and filled with Castor oil. Worked fine to 36 kts at the week-end.
Leave the old transducer in to plug the hole. This way you do not have to lift the boat out of the water which will save you a days down time.
__________________

__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.