Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 27 April 2004, 04:22   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Thanks Guys,
I did think about the collet way, we have a machine shop at work, however I would much prefer to use the Osma way (I have loads of Osma fitting available), however would that way still work with a transducer that is supposed to be fitted "outside the hull", i.e would it be able to see through the hull layup?

Thanks again
Andy
__________________

__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 April 2004, 05:17   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester - Abersoc
Boat name: MeMe
Make: SeaPro 595CC
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 115 4S
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,681
Send a message via MSN to MeMe
Before you go..........

have a look at a thread I started in August last year. Do a search for "Transducer Mounting" and you'll find some additional tips along with mu conclussions. In brief, the way I did it works really well and I know others have followed suit and agree.

MeMe
__________________

__________________
Buy it & Use it, then sell it and buy something bigger
MeMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 April 2004, 10:27   #13
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gee
Thanks Guys,
I did think about the collet way, we have a machine shop at work, however I would much prefer to use the Osma way (I have loads of Osma fitting available), however would that way still work with a transducer that is supposed to be fitted "outside the hull", i.e would it be able to see through the hull layup?

Thanks again
Andy
Raymarine use Airmar transducers, and I believe that many others use the same. You will loose some performance at the high (deep) readings because the hull will adsorb some of the energy, so it may only read to 600ft and not 900ft. If the bottom is that far away, who cares? I am only bothered when I am about to hit it with the prop. I can do you a sketch of my OSMA setup if you want, PM or email me if you would.
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2004, 03:33   #14
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
e-mail sent
__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2004, 04:27   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hamble
Length: 9m +
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,317
I don't know the construction of a Red Bay, but if it has any sort of coring (balsa/foam etc) it will need to be cut out if your going the Osma route!
__________________
It is better to remain silent and be thought a fool, than to speak and remove all doubt!
Dirk Diggler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 April 2004, 05:17   #16
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nutbourne
Boat name: Renegade
Make: Porter
Length: 6m +
Engine: 140 Tohatsu
MMSI: 235022904
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler
I don't know the construction of a Red Bay, but if it has any sort of coring (balsa/foam etc) it will need to be cut out if your going the Osma route!
Good point Dirk

However, if you go the thro' hull route you have to sleeve the core & inner skin, so why not use the Osma pipe to do that, an still save a hole in the outer skin?
__________________
Mark H
"A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools" Douglas Adams
Mark Halliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 May 2004, 05:23   #17
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverkip
Make: Redbay 11m Cabin
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2 x Yamaha422Sti 275
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirk Diggler
I don't know the construction of a Red Bay, but if it has any sort of coring (balsa/foam etc) it will need to be cut out if your going the Osma route!
Well I tried the thro hull way all over the boat and the maximum depth was always 6-7m even in 60m + water and when I hung the trasducer over the side it gave the correct depth.
So I have had a collet turned to suit and am planning to get her lifted out this week. I don't think that the Redbays have a cored hull just a bloody thick one.
Andy
__________________

__________________
Hard or Soft it's never BIG enough
Andy Gee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.