Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 07 August 2011, 04:54   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: N. Devon
Boat name: Nutkin Too
Make: X-Pro Defender
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard, Suzuki 90
MMSI: 235095884
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,367
RIBase
Through hull on a Garmin Fishfinder 90

Hi all

I currently have a Cliper depth sounder fitted to the rib. The transducer is mounted in the hull about 2/3rd of the way back - I couldn't get it any further

It's started to read deep, and I mean 40' when it shoudl be reading 8! I'm guessing that it's had it's day? I don't use it that often but I'm pretty sure that it used to read correctly.

I've been looking at a Garmin Fishfinder 90 but all the adverts seem to state that they come with a Transom Mount Transducer.

My question is can these be hull fitted (internal) or do I need a different transducer?Is the Clipper caput or could there be another issue (like these shouldn't be hull fitted)?

Ta

Andy
__________________

__________________
Andy

Bude Dive Club - www.budediveclub.co.uk
GAFIRS - www.gafirs.org.uk
treerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 05:12   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Northampton
Make: RibTec
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outbaord mariner 75
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 506
I have a Eagle cuda 168 wide screen ad that had a trasom mounted skimmer transducer where my old eagle magna 2 had a shoot throught.
The cuda's transducer can be fitted as a shoot through bu simply roughing up the bottom of the transducer and epoxying it to the hull in the same way a shoot throught is fixed.
It works perfectly as its in the same place as where the old one was.

only this is I dont get a proper temp reading as it sits in the sump at the back and not in the water.

I guess the Garmin skimmers are the same
__________________

__________________
jezza2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 16:01   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: NW& wherever the boat is!
Boat name: depends on m'mood!
Make: Humbers/15-24m cats
Length: 6m +
Engine: etec130/big volvos
MMSI: many and various
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 1,815
just silicon it in - will be fine try it first with some water round it in the req position
__________________
Dave M
www.wavelengthtraining.co.uk
wavelength is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 17:35   #4
Member
 
Festinghouse's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chorley / Holyhead
Boat name: Northwind Challenger
Make: Tornado
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 115 efi CT
MMSI: 235080598
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,398
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Festinghouse
Quote:
Originally Posted by treerat View Post
Hi all

I currently have a Cliper depth sounder fitted to the rib. The transducer is mounted in the hull about 2/3rd of the way back - I couldn't get it any further

It's started to read deep, and I mean 40' when it shoudl be reading 8! I'm guessing that it's had it's day? I don't use it that often but I'm pretty sure that it used to read correctly.

I've been looking at a Garmin Fishfinder 90 but all the adverts seem to state that they come with a Transom Mount Transducer.

My question is can these be hull fitted (internal) or do I need a different transducer?Is the Clipper caput or could there be another issue (like these shouldn't be hull fitted)?

Ta

Andy
hi, ive got the nasa clipper duet and i too have problems with the accuracy of depth readings, i am however in the process of fine tuning it - details of how to do this are in the handbook, failing that give nasa marine a call on 01438 221023, they are quite helpfull.
__________________
"Life may often suck, but the alternative is unacceptable"
MMSI Sticker

Member of S.A.B.S. (Lancashire Division)
Festinghouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 August 2011, 22:50   #5
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Oakland CA
Length: 3m +
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 6,653
Quote:
Originally Posted by treerat View Post
It's started to read deep, and I mean 40' when it shoudl be reading 8! I'm guessing that it's had it's day?
You sure the bonding between the transducer and hull hasn't started coming loose? Usually (AFAIK) they either work or not. All the ducer does is send the pulse and pick up the return; the head unit does the calculating as to what the delay to depth ratio is. So generally if you're getting weird readings, either the head unit is bad, or something's causing a delay (airspace will do it.)

jky
__________________
jyasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2011, 02:14   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
= what jky says about transducer.

Only one type of transducer available for FF90. As before can be used a shoot-through with epoxy or silicone (latter good for trying out different locations)
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 August 2011, 14:13   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: N. Devon
Boat name: Nutkin Too
Make: X-Pro Defender
Length: 5m +
Engine: Outboard, Suzuki 90
MMSI: 235095884
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,367
RIBase
Thanks guys, I'll check that it hasn't become a little loose. I didn't know that they could be tunned, so will eb checking that too.

Worst case is I'll go for the 90 if it fails when out this week.

Ta again
__________________

__________________
Andy

Bude Dive Club - www.budediveclub.co.uk
GAFIRS - www.gafirs.org.uk
treerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.