Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 15 August 2005, 10:57   #1
Member
 
Nasher's Avatar
 
Country: Other
Town: Principalite d'Chaos
Boat name: The Nashers Revenge!
Make: Ocean & Bombard
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzi DT200EFI, DT9.9
MMSI: "Mmmmm SI" she said!
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 4,147
Switching Transducers.

After nearly running aground approaching Priory Bay IOW at low tide yesterday Iíve again been pondering the old issue of Fishfinder/depth transducers mounted on the transom or within the hull, but at the stern so they work at speed.

My Transom mounted transducer works well at all speeds, but of course approaching a beach at very slow speed, the hull is in the water probably 5 or 6M ahead of the transducer.

Iíve been thinking about adding another transducer bonded inside the hull near the bow, but far enough back that itís below the water line at less than 10 knots. I then need to find a way of switching between the two.

I presume Iíll need to make up a connector that both transducers can plug into, and that also contains a multi-pole switch to break contact with one transducer before connecting the other.

Judging by previous experience with the Garmin call centre technical staff, they will probably just tell me to unplug one and plug in the other each time!

Has anybody tried this? Or have any ideas?

Nasher.
__________________

__________________
RIBBED For extra pleasure.
Member of the ebay Blue RIB cover club.
Member of the Bombard 380 Aerotec club
Nasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2005, 12:14   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
try RS for a multipole changeover switch that may do the job.

RS

Jiz
__________________

__________________
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2005, 12:18   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
something like stock number:

340-308 (3 pole changeover switch)

Jiz
__________________
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2005, 12:29   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 155
Assuming you had the depth gauge at the very front of the boat (impractical) I would have thought if you are travelling at any speed you couldn't stop the boat in its own length (i.e. given the boat speed and your reaction time). So you'd still hit the bottom!

Usually if you are in deepish water the only obstructions are marked on a map or in publications like solent hazards. If you are in shallow water then take it slowly and lift your engine slightly. Everyone one knows that approaching a beach the depth of water usually gets shallower! Looking at other peoples position, people in the water and the water usually give a good idea. Also a fish finder will usually tell you is beneath you: sand, rocks. mud etc

Given the depth of your prop you should be able to see the ground approaching in all but the lowest visibility water.

I mounted mine in the hull using Isopon P38 and it works fine.
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 August 2005, 16:43   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Whitstable
Boat name: Tango
Make: Avon and Narwhal2.4m
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60HP Yamaha
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 966
What you need is a forward facing transducer, not sure who makes them but there is one on the market that beams out in front of the boat, this way you can see shallow water or obstructions coming earlier.
__________________
Bilge Rat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2005, 04:34   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: St Peter Port
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: XS-Ribs
Length: 9m +
Engine: 2 x 225hp Optimax
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 375
http://www.echopilot.com/infopage.asp?infoid=145

That's what you need and the lower versions aren't as horrendously expensive as you might think.
__________________
Which part of "throw me the mooring line" didn't you understand!?
pettal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2005, 05:00   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Nr Faversham, Kent
Boat name: C Rider
Make: Avon
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yam 80
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 479
Look guys, keep it simple. To find the depth while approaching a beach or shoal use the paddle. It works so well even a dipstick can use it.

When your echo sounder reads 1.5 metres or less then the water is most likely 2 metres deep (cos the sensor is on the keel) which is enough for a paddle.

Simple.
__________________
Searider - The Best 5.4 x Far
Swifty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 August 2005, 07:04   #8
Member
 
Simon B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Leicester
Boat name: Vixen
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki OB 175
MMSI: 235071839
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,621
You could buy on those cheap as chips Eagle cudas and glue the transducer in place in hull and simply have two screens.
__________________

__________________
New boat is here, very happy!
Simon
www.luec.org
Simon B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.