Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 09 February 2012, 18:53   #21
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Looks like our last two posts crossed in mid air. That's good so power is via a power terminator and not the LCX. The HDS can in fact provide NMEA2k GPS data to the network from the internal reeiver but if you have selected the LGC 4000 that's fine in doing that you get 5htz update speeds rather than 1htz. I asked this question because if the network went down momentarily and crashed the interface you would also get a GPS not responding message on the LCX. Have you ever watched the device list at the point the interface drops out? Do all the other devices remain on the network?

There is a newer software version available which may be worth trying too.

TT
__________________

__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 February 2012, 19:10   #22
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
When I got the HDS the istructions said it couldn't provide outputs onto the network from the GPS module. I have always kept the system set for using the single aerial mounted on the A frame right over the transducer so as to not introduce a couple of metres deliberate inaccuracy into wreck positions.

On searching I can see there is a 2.3.0 version for the interface and managed to get it from an australian fishing forum.
Last time I checked I am sure I had all the plotters updated to the latest versions but have never seen anything for interface updates even on the Lowrance site.
As far as I can tell the rest of the network stays up, just the engine info stops being displayed.
If the whole network crashed I would also lose info being cross linked between the plotters suerly? One odd thing which I am sure I saw at the weekend was no info form the engine but the engine diagnostic was showing OK. Not 100% sure of this but I think while I was flicking through the LMF pages it was still showing OK but not rev fuel data was displayed.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 01:52   #23
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 4m +
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Can you explain the last bit of your post. When you lose your engine data is the interface dropping off the network or can you still see it on the device list? (on the HDS or LCX)

Also how and when do you start getting data again?
__________________
Texel Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 04:26   #24
RIBnet supporter
 
Erin's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: A large rock
Boat name: La Frette
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 Suzzy
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
One odd thing which I am sure I saw at the weekend was no info form the engine but the engine diagnostic was showing OK.
That doesn't surprise me! When my interface started to die it also said engine OK even though the engine wasn't even connected. I don't think it is smart enough to hide the OK response unless it actually receives an error from the engine ecu.

Interesting that you found the software update on an Aussie forum. I did too and updated my unit. It now provides engine temp which it didn't previously.

Your problem sounds very much like a motion/vibration issue. It's a PITA but I would swap the backbone cable if you can or hook up a temp one and see if that makes a difference. I had a dodgy T on my installation at first which was very intermittent but was luckily something I found whilst the boat was still at home.
Erin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 08:09   #25
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
So are you saying that without fail when teh boat is sat in the water and you start the engine that you get the fault, yet with the engine on the drive running on muffs the fault does not appear.

That would suggest to me a water ingress issue perhaps, very odd !.
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 11:39   #26
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Nope, works OK on the drive even with the engine running no matter what I wiggled or crosslink.
Stops working occassionally on the water and is gradually getting worse.
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 February 2012, 11:52   #27
SPR
Trade member
 
SPR's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Central Belt of Scotland
Boat name: Puddleduck III
Make: Bombard
Length: 5m +
Engine: 50 HP
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPR
you tried using a big bin of water to test engine in drive way?
back to my first post...this will put the leg under water, next I would fill boat up with water and inside skin of boat if the cables are being run under deck...

This might simulate being on the water!
__________________
SPRmarine / SPRtraining
RYA Training Courses & Safety Equipment Sales
SPR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.