Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 March 2008, 17:55   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
suitable GPS/Echo unit for smartcraft gauges

Ok, I m thinking of getting a new GPS/ Echo all in one unit for the boat.

I have just purchased a optimax engine and I know that certain Navman units will display smartcraft information.. I have looked at the 8084 but I coughed when I saw the price!£1100 is the cheapest so far with the gateway interface for the engine.

I have also looked at the Raymarine units which can display engine info. They link up using NMEA 2000(whatever that is?) I think its the C120.

So, can this unit connect to the opti? Is it any good? Any other suggestions?


Also if anyone is selling anything suitable I would be interested.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2008, 18:19   #2
K&S
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: Riberty
Make: xs 650
Length: 6m +
Engine: suzuki 175
MMSI: 235063328
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 377
Hi, we have used Navman in our current boat and previous boat.
Pretty simple to use and install (once you find the right wiring diagram for gps / dsc radio , posted on a thread on ribnet)
We also use Navman 7200 radio as we like the 'track buddy' facility.


What may interest you more is we used a guy in Canada to supply for a hell of a lot cheaper than uk prices link bellow

http://stores.ebay.co.uk/ShipShopCan...Q3amesstQQtZkm
__________________

__________________
K&S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 March 2008, 18:20   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
I got quite a good deal on a Lowrance LCX-27C combined plotter last week.
Complete with everything including dual freq TXD and Navionics XL gold chart cartridge, £908 delivered.
Its got a fairly large screen, about 7 and a bit inches diagonal and is NMEA compatible. In fact I think it comes with a network already ready to expand to other items.
Dunno if this is the sort of thing and price you are looking at?
__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 06:34   #4
Member
 
Andy Moore's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cowes, Isle of Wight
Boat name: TiLT 2
Make: Avon Adventure 620
Length: 6m +
Engine: Optimax 135
MMSI: 235032203
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceB View Post
I got quite a good deal on a Lowrance LCX-27C combined plotter last week.
Complete with everything including dual freq TXD and Navionics XL gold chart cartridge, £908 delivered.
Its got a fairly large screen, about 7 and a bit inches diagonal and is NMEA compatible. In fact I think it comes with a network already ready to expand to other items.
Dunno if this is the sort of thing and price you are looking at?

We are on our third replacement Lowrance unit. The keyboard kept shorting when it got wet with rainwater. i would steer clear of them in the future.

I would look at Raymarine if I got another set-up, although I can't say I have any experience of their kit.
__________________
RIBnet: now available on Facebook!
Andy Moore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 07:13   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
I am very tempted towards the Navman 8084/8120 due to the smartcraft features.

Anybody have experience of this?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 11:23   #6
K&S
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: Riberty
Make: xs 650
Length: 6m +
Engine: suzuki 175
MMSI: 235063328
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 377
Hi on our previous set up we bought the unit to use with a mercury engine but in the end we didnt set up for smart craft stuff we used instruments supplied with the engine and a fuel flow meter.

I know it doesn't make much sense not to plug smartcraft stuff in but the price of the link cable was more than i could get the fuel flow meter for.
All the engine info we needed was available on the instruments. The fuel flow was probably the only thing we would have used on the smart craft guages anyway.

Using the split screen took up a lot of room and when bouncing about in the waves knowing where we were was more important that having duplicate info on the screen.
__________________
K&S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 11:44   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
So not worth the money then?

My other choice is the raymarine c80?
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 14:44   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: plymouth
Make: Ribtec
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mercury 175 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 350
ok, looks like im going for the Navman 8120 from that shop in Canada on ebay.

Seems good enough bloke, quick to answer questions and very helpful.
__________________
Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 14:48   #9
K&S
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Boat name: Riberty
Make: xs 650
Length: 6m +
Engine: suzuki 175
MMSI: 235063328
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miller View Post
So not worth the money then?

My other choice is the raymarine c80?
If your buying it just because of the smart craft function then probably not, but they are one of the cheaper plotters available and it was really that function we wanted.

Our new boat is a suzuki and we didnt even bother looking at a compatible plotter Just a fuel flow meter. having said that the instruments supplied with the suzuki have sensors / warnings built for temps etc.

Could always buy the smart craft guages but from memory they were pretty expensive as well.
__________________
K&S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 March 2008, 15:23   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Inverness
Boat name: none
Make: none
Length: 5m +
Engine: none
MMSI: none
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Moore View Post
We are on our third replacement Lowrance unit. The keyboard kept shorting when it got wet with rainwater. i would steer clear of them in the future.

I would look at Raymarine if I got another set-up, although I can't say I have any experience of their kit.
Which unit are you having the problem with?
Certainly if I had three units go down on me one after the other I would be looking for a refund rather than replacement after the second one. Haven't heard anything bad about lowrance other then the odd rogue one but you get that with any bit of kit, even garmin which I love to bits and folk have still had problems with.
I was really looking for the fuel sensor and a larger screen, 90% of the time depth can just be a number on the screen and only need the graphics now and again.
__________________

__________________
BruceB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.