Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 16 May 2008, 08:16   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Standard Horizon poor range?

I have just read a review of hand held VHFs in MBM where they had problems with transmit range on the HX270E and the HX500E. They reported both sets were quiet at 1 mile and very faint at 3 miles. All the other makes seemed fine.

This reminded me of the problems our Falklander had.

http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...=hx270+problem

This is a bit worrying to say the least. I haven't tested mine yet - only used it to receive. Hope it's ok.

Anyone else had trouble?
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2008, 12:49   #2
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
The problem I had was one set which was changed by the agent here with no questions and the one I have works absolutely fine as I checked it after I swapped it. I must admit I've not used it much on transmit (like you I usually just listen) but I think my problems were a dud set or aerial.

My handheld sitting in the window at the house will receive signals (from fair sized ships) transmitted from out in Berkeley Sound which is 10 miles away and on the other side of 900ft terrain so the receive bit is certainly OK!
__________________

__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2008, 17:05   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Length: 5m +
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Might be the reviewers not the radio!

I saw a review a while ago where this problem was cited, not sure if its one to which you refer. The testers put the radios on low power and checked the range and the YS radios did not reach as far....
However, they did not measure the power output so the tests are meaningless. If a radio is on low power then obviously you are not wanting max range so it is quite possible that the YS radios put out less power in that mode than the others, but no problem as you pick high power if you want range. They should have put a wattmeter on them.
__________________
cyberstoker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 May 2008, 18:42   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
The tests I read were just normal everyday tests and the range was lacking on both sets which is a little worrying.

Reception on mine is amazing but that's not what I bought it for - time to conduct some tests!!!
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2008, 12:56   #5
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Stanley, Falkland Is
Boat name: Seawolf
Make: Osprey Vipermax 5.8
Length: 5m +
Engine: Etec 150
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 3,688
We were out the other day and the base set on my RIB didn't seem to be playing so I was using the handheld to talk to the launch from some distance away, I would guess 4-5 miles but certainly no problems at that, apart from the odd wave coming over the bow causing a break in transmission (it was a bit lumpy!).
__________________
A Boat is a hole in the water, surrounded by fibreglass, into which you throw money...

Sent from my Computer, using a keyboard and mouse
BogMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 May 2008, 07:56   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyberstoker View Post
I saw a review a while ago where this problem was cited, not sure if its one to which you refer. The testers put the radios on low power and checked the range and the YS radios did not reach as far....
However, they did not measure the power output so the tests are meaningless. If a radio is on low power then obviously you are not wanting max range so it is quite possible that the YS radios put out less power in that mode than the others, but no problem as you pick high power if you want range. They should have put a wattmeter on them.
I have just found the magazine and you are quite right - what a stupid moronic thing to do!!!

Jon Brooks should complain............
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.