Old 16 July 2005, 11:51   #1

Town: skelmorlie
Boat name: janine
Make: avon searider
Length: 5m +
Engine: outboard
Speedo and sounder query

I've almost completed the restoration of my old Searider 5.4 and I'm dying to get it in the water. I've now got a blank console and about to install electrics. As I'm new to ribbing do you think for navigation purposes I would be better starting on a basic speedo/log and sounder(if so what types). Or should I push the boat out and go for a gps plotter/sounder. My budget is about 300 -400 quid. Any advice would be most appreciated.
Old 16 July 2005, 12:18   #2

Town: Christchurch
Boat name: Sha-my-sha-my
Make: Valiant
Length: 4m +
If you want a plotter, remember to budget for the cartography too.

I went with both, and it was a great choice. It saves time & fuel on longer passages because you can avoid weaving about your desired course.
Old 28 July 2005, 16:20   #3

Town: Swanmore nr Fareham
Boat name: Greyhound
Make: Ribtec
Length: 7m +
Engine: 225 Opti
I'd get a plotter 'cause that'll give you the exact speed without need for a pitot type tube (inaccurate - I found) or save you having to drill a hole for a paddle wheel (never seems a good idea!)

You can add the depth later for under £100 (i'd buy a fish finder - I think its the same money)

If you look at the chart it'll give you the depth contours anyway.
Stuart M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28 July 2005, 21:28   #4

Town: Worcestershire
Make: Various
Engine: O/B + Sterndrives Di
Budget options to consider:

Navman 4150 Fishfinder (speed distance depth)............. £125.00

Lowrance M52i (GPS/Sounder speed over ground/ depth)..£209.00

Jump to a chart plotter will cost in the order of £450 minimum )including cartography)
Old 29 July 2005, 09:42   #5

Town: Enfield, Co Meath
Boat name: no name
Make: Zodiac Pro
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki 115
Send a message via AIM to lc0021 Send a message via MSN to lc0021 Send a message via Skype™ to lc0021