Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 01 July 2007, 17:32   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Sony HC30 Camcorder

Can anyone help me, I have just bought one of these on ebay however it has arrived without the CD with all the software and drivers on.

I think the CD is comoon among a number of Sony Camcorders the part number of the CD is sony SPVD-012.

Does anyone have a disk I could copy?

Chris
__________________

__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 July 2007, 18:02   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Why do you need any Sony software? You don't usually need drivers or anything to get the information off.
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 July 2007, 18:13   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
I've got a Vaio so is it just a case of connecting the two via Firewire and then using the DVGATE software that came on the VAIO?

Chris
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 July 2007, 18:34   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
It should be. Normally you just playback with the camera and capture onto the computer.

I only have experience of setting up expensive DV stuff using dedicated capture cards and software like Adobe Premier but it's all on the same principle.
__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01 July 2007, 19:57   #5
Member
 
Richard B's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Devon
Boat name: White Ice
Make: Ranieri
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 115hp
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 5,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris1573 View Post
I've got a Vaio so is it just a case of connecting the two via Firewire and then using the DVGATE software that came on the VAIO?

Chris
Yes.... except that it's even easier than that!

All Vaio have firewire ports so you will need the firewire cable (wasn't supplied with my camcorder) - don't bother with USB, even if the camcorder supports it.

You can control the camera for playback with your software - Firewire+miniDV uses a standard protocol so software like Adobe Premier or Microsoft Movie Maker all get the same functionality without any additional drivers.

If you do need the CD, let me know as it's probably the same as mine... although finding it could be challengining! I'm fairly sure I remember deciding it was worthless though.

The only Sony software I've used is Click-to-DVD which was useful for writing to a DVD and doing automatic menus. This was already on my laptop, so I guess it's on your Vaio?
Richard B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 17:06   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Thanks Guys, yes I think the Vaio will have all I need.

Chris
__________________
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2007, 17:53   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
NTSC and PAL

I have realised that the camera I purchased is NTSC as it came from the US I imagine.

Its interesting because it still plays all my old tapes from my old PAL JVC unit and in fact PAL appears on the screen of the camcorder when you are playing the old tapes. I have also plugged it into the TV at home which is a 32" Sony LCD and again it plays fine either the old PAL stuff or the new NTSC footage.

Is there any reason why having NTSC is a problem in this day and age?

What is the difference?

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2007, 18:09   #8
Member
 
Country: Other
Town: Oakley
Boat name: Zerstörer
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki DF 140
MMSI: 235050131
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I have realised that the camera I purchased is NTSC as it came from the US I imagine.

Its interesting because it still plays all my old tapes from my old PAL JVC unit and in fact PAL appears on the screen of the camcorder when you are playing the old tapes. I have also plugged it into the TV at home which is a 32" Sony LCD and again it plays fine either the old PAL stuff or the new NTSC footage.

Is there any reason why having NTSC is a problem in this day and age?

What is the difference?

Chris
NTSC = Never The Same Colour.

Pal is better.

Just get the TV set up right. I would have thought that with a Sony either type should be okay.

Read your tellys manual and see what it says.

NR.
__________________
http://www.xfire.com/download/
Biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 July 2007, 18:45   #9
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Gloucestershire
Boat name: Osprey
Make: Osprey Vipermax
Length: 5m +
Engine: E-tec 300 G2
MMSI: TBC
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 4,013
Ive done a bit more research and apparently for MiniDV cameras NTSC is a better format to have anyway, also I will mainly be capturing the videos onto my PC for editing where I can convert to PAL if I wish.

Chris
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Chris Stevens

Born fiddler
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13 July 2007, 08:19   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: swansea
Boat name: Too Blue
Make: BLANK
Length: 8m +
Engine: Suzuki DT225
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 12,791
Most modern equipment will accept both formats. Broadcast NTSC is a load of crap - it was something like 525 lines against PAL's 625 lines and the colours were all over the place.

One thing you have to watch out for is that some DVD players and TVs will auto switch between the 2 - what this means is that you get some judder and lag on fast moving objects or panning - sadly most people don't even notice which amazes me just what sort of rubbish most people put up with. It's a bit like the people who turn up the treble to full or the colours on the TV to make the picture look "nicer"!!!
__________________

__________________
codprawn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 23:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.