Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 08 October 2013, 15:50   #1
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
Sonar - where do I put the transducer ?

Ive got a Garmin 750S and just needed a transducer, so - without thinking too much I orderd a cheap transom one.

But I think that was in haste.

Now Ive had time to thinking about my RIB, its not got a normal transom.

Its a twin engined cat, so the rear sort of looks like a "W", with the two hulls being very, very narrow and of course, two massive Suzuki 175's mounted there.

The middle bit isnt really in the water. So I suppose a transom mounted one wont work will it, or there wont be space to mount it ?

So, do you have to drill a hole in the hull, or fix one inside the hull and it works through the hull. I suppose if there are no air bubbles and the hull is not too thick this would work, wouldnt it ?

(Doh ! I should have thought this through a bit first)
__________________

__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2013, 16:35   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
no, don't drill the hull get a thru the hull one, they work spot on

try ebay item 370729437350, Garmin Transducer 50/200Khz Plastic Adjustable In-Hull
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2013, 17:07   #3
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
So that will work on a V shaped hull, or does it need to go on a flat bit then ?
__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2013, 17:13   #4
Member
 
Country: USA
Town: Seattle
Boat name: Water Dog
Make: Polaris
Length: 4m +
Engine: Yamaha 60hp
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trimix View Post
So that will work on a V shaped hull, or does it need to go on a flat bit then ?
it (obviously) needs to be point straight down
You can make a flat spot using some modeling clay and liquid epoxy. Once dry, set the transducer on top and glue in place onto your new flat spot.
__________________
captnjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2013, 17:44   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,582
RIBase
Have you got access to under the deck, to get to the inside of one of the keels?
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08 October 2013, 18:13   #6
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Exmouth, Devon
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 765
If it's a steep V with little flat area then the depth of filler required to make a large enough surface for the transducer might compromise performance.

You could use the same transducer in an anti-freeze bath. Use a plastic box with a tight fitting lid and bottom cut to hull shape and bond that in. You might want to place it up the hull a little to allow for bilge water to go past it.

The 'official' in-hull one (which works same as above but needs a flat - not horizontal - area of hull to mount) will take up a deadrise angle of around 22 degrees which may be close enough.
__________________
www.allgadgets.co.uk
Tel 01395 227727
MikeCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2013, 02:02   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
Revenger hull is a deep v n it works fine, as long as you can get in the fix it down, we used silkaflex, took 24hrs to go off but has been rock solid for a fees years now, and transducer seems to be reasonably accurate upto 40+k
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2013, 03:43   #8
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
In the rear I can get to the bilge areas of each hull easy enough, so I can stick one there. Its the lowest point and about 2 inches of it will be in the water when its up on the hydrofoils. I just need to look at the angles as I see Garmin do various transponders.

I suppose Im really only interested in the depth at slow speed though, say when Im very close to the shore, looking for my dive spot, comming in to harbour etc.

Flat out Im not going to be shallow and certainly ought to be concentrating on where Im going, not my chart plotter

There is plenty of space
__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2013, 03:54   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Chris Caton's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wirral & Caernarfon
Boat name: That's Enuff
Make: Revenger & Avon SR4
Length: 7m +
Engine: Honda 150HP & 50HP
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 4,199
I think you will need to fix it as low as possible so it's looking at water n not fresh air, don't forget if you fit as far back as you can it will look at depth at that point, not depth at the pointy end that will find the hard stuff well before the blunt end will, been there n got the tee shirt
__________________
Chris Caton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09 October 2013, 04:27   #10
Member
 
Trimix's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Boat name: Hysucat
Make: Hysucat
Length: 8m +
Engine: Twin Suzuki 175's
MMSI: 235102645
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 861
RIBase
Good point Chris, but can I not calibrate it or set somthing in my Garmin 750S so it sounds an alarm at a certain depth ? I seem to remember reading that in the instruction manual.

Just how far in front will it read ? I imagine the sensor reads down in a cone shape, so the deeper it goes the wider the cone - whereas in a meter or two its not had time to spread out, so I suppose its probably only reading a meter or two in circumference.
__________________

__________________
Trimix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.