Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 02 July 2007, 13:46   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle Staffs
Boat name: blue it
Make: ribcraft 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: suzuki df225
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Top banana
smartcraft to gps

Could anybody please advise on connecting the gps input lead to a garmin
298c. currently i am using the blue nmea+ from the garmin to my navman dsc
yellow wire, all works perfectly, I now want to connect the garmin to the smart craft to give me digital speed reeding and time and date. Question? can
i connect the smart craft to the blue+cable on the garmin as well as the navman radio, or does it need a seperate port. The garmin 298 only seems to have one set of nmea in out cables. the others are canet h canet L whatever
they are
__________________

__________________
Top banana
Top banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 14:50   #2
Trade member
 
Andre's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Sussex
Boat name: Grey Mist
Make: Parker 800 Baltic
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2xMercury Diesel 170
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,450
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Andre
Quote:
Originally Posted by Top banana View Post
Could anybody please advise on connecting the gps input lead to a garmin
298c. currently i am using the blue nmea+ from the garmin to my navman dsc
yellow wire, all works perfectly, I now want to connect the garmin to the smart craft to give me digital speed reeding and time and date. Question? can
i connect the smart craft to the blue+cable on the garmin as well as the navman radio, or does it need a seperate port. The garmin 298 only seems to have one set of nmea in out cables. the others are canet h canet L whatever
they are
You cannot connect Garmin equipment to Smartcraft. You need to have Northstar and the Smartcraft engine gateway connection
Andre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 14:54   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by Top banana View Post
Could anybody please advise on connecting the gps input lead to a garmin
298c. currently i am using the blue nmea+ from the garmin to my navman dsc
yellow wire, all works perfectly, I now want to connect the garmin to the smart craft to give me digital speed reeding and time and date. Question? can
i connect the smart craft to the blue+cable on the garmin as well as the navman radio, or does it need a seperate port. The garmin 298 only seems to have one set of nmea in out cables. the others are canet h canet L whatever
they are
Hi found this when doing mine

James
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gps-cons.jpg
Views:	2335
Size:	64.5 KB
ID:	28194  
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 14:56   #4
RIBnet supporter
 
bedajim's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cambs/Northants
Length: no boat
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,499
or look here



http://rib.net/forum/showthread.php?...art+craft+nmea
__________________
bedajim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02 July 2007, 14:57   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle Staffs
Boat name: blue it
Make: ribcraft 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: suzuki df225
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Top banana
Cheers for that Andre.
__________________
Top banana
Top banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2007, 09:02   #6
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre View Post
You cannot connect Garmin equipment to Smartcraft. You need to have Northstar and the Smartcraft engine gateway connection
Sorry to contradict you Andre but you can! The advantage of having Northstar or Navman instruments is that they have all of the engine information on them, but you can still connect any GPS (with a NMEA out) to the Smartcraft (it's marked GPS in) and you will then get a GPS speed reading on your Smartcraft instruments.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2007, 17:46   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Newcastle Staffs
Boat name: blue it
Make: ribcraft 7.5
Length: 7m +
Engine: suzuki df225
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 488
Send a message via AIM to Top banana
thanks for the advise guys, connected the garmin to the smartcraft using the blue nmea+ from the garmin to the nmea+ on the smartcraft, the - on the smartcraft going to the buz bar, ive allso connected the navman radio to the blue nmea+ from the garmin and erery thing works fine, exactly as the diagram posted by bedajim
__________________
Top banana
Top banana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2009, 11:36   #8
Member
 
Country: Denmark
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Smartcraft gateway info display on Garmin GPS

Hi fellas,

Have any of you come across a work around to have Smartcraft data displayed on GARMIN GPS?

Thanks in advance,

Thomas
__________________
dkboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2009, 11:39   #9
Member
 
Cookee's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Salcombe, Devon, UK
Boat name: BananaShark
Make: BananaShark
Length: 10m +
Engine: 2xYanmar 260 diesels
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkboater View Post
Hi fellas,

Have any of you come across a work around to have Smartcraft data displayed on GARMIN GPS?

Thanks in advance,

Thomas
To my knowledge it can't be done - you'll need and Navman or equivalent that has compatible software - it all is or at least used to be part of the Brunswick corporation.

Edit
You may at least be able to use the Garmin GPS speed on the Smartcraft but none of the Smartcraft info can be displayed on a Garmin.
__________________
Cookee
Originally Posted by Zippy
When a boat looks that good who needs tubes!!!
Cookee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 June 2009, 16:25   #10
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: Pwllheli
Boat name: PapaPapaTango/bigblu
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Engine: Mariner 150hp/225opi
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 27
As far as i am aware to connect the smartcraft guages to your GPS you need to use navman from experiance
__________________

__________________
Trist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.