Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 March 2011, 15:06   #1
Member
 
Kernow Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cornwall
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,518
Smartcraft- Thick owner

So, new smartcraft tacho & speedo come with engine, then see a smartcraft system monitor on ebay with 10 starting price and no reserve, I get it for the tenner and lo and behold it works, bargain!
cut all 3 into console, looks good, go to make connections, canbus from engine to 4 way junction box, tacho to junction box, speedo to junction box, system monitor to junction box, all fine except for the terminal resistor still sat in its packet with nowhere for it to be plugged in!
I assume I must still use that resistor even if all sockets are in use on the junction box? If so is there a way of combining either the tacho & speedo or tacho & system monitor? Or am i going shopping for a 6 way junction box?
__________________

__________________
Kernow Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2011, 16:48   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kernow View Post
So, new smartcraft tacho & speedo come with engine, then see a smartcraft system monitor on ebay with 10 starting price and no reserve, I get it for the tenner and lo and behold it works, bargain!
cut all 3 into console, looks good, go to make connections, canbus from engine to 4 way junction box, tacho to junction box, speedo to junction box, system monitor to junction box, all fine except for the terminal resistor still sat in its packet with nowhere for it to be plugged in!
I assume I must still use that resistor even if all sockets are in use on the junction box? If so is there a way of combining either the tacho & speedo or tacho & system monitor? Or am i going shopping for a 6 way junction box?
6 way junction box!
__________________

__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 March 2011, 17:41   #3
Member
 
Kernow Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cornwall
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
6 way junction box!
Ah, will add that to my shopping list then, I'll probably add 2 new smartcraft gauge looms too in view of your advice!
Haven't been to Looe for years, seems I'll be a regular visitor now
__________________
Kernow Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 March 2011, 03:09   #4
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Or you could get another main trunk canbus with a resistor built in.

'Swot I did

I have a few Smartcraft related leftovers if you need stuff
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2011, 08:07   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by martini View Post
Or you could get another main trunk canbus with a resistor built in.

'Swot I did

I have a few Smartcraft related leftovers if you need stuff
Cheaper for a new junction box!
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2011, 08:13   #6
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
Fitted my new N2K smartcraft gauge at the weekend, I'll let you know what happens when I power it up!
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2011, 08:48   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Does your existing blue canbus cable have a resisttor on each end?
__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 March 2011, 09:24   #8
Member
 
martini's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: jersey
Boat name: Martini II
Make: Arctic 28/FC470
Length: 8m +
Engine: twin 225Opti/50hp 2t
MMSI: 235067688
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,021
If you're fitting a system monitor then you could've done away with the other two gauges but since the jigsaw's been out to play already then a six way box is the next cheapest option as TD says. I think they're quite cheap come to think of it. I've just checked my spares and I've got two boxes but they're both four way.

But as DHD is suggesting, worth having a quick check to make sure you haven't got a resistor in both ends of the main trunk. It should have at least one at the engine end.
__________________
martini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 March 2011, 09:32   #9
Member
 
Kernow Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cornwall
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,518
Thanks guys, so here I am sat on the boat and with my new iPhone app running :-)
Hopefully I've just attached a pic showing the junction box end of the blue canbus wire clearly marked 'termination resistor this end', does that mean it needs one or it's got one?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1832415295.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	57773  
__________________
Kernow Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 March 2011, 09:42   #10
Member
 
Kernow Buoy's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Cornwall
Length: no boat
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,518
The app works then
That smiley actually comes up as a real smiley on the app as well!
Next question, coming out of that canbus are 2 wires, a purple one and a brown and blue one , I'm guessing these are for the alarm and trim perhaps? I've got everything else working but no alarm beep when I switch on the ignition (assume that happens) and no response to trim/tilt switch on the throttle but working on the engine.
__________________

__________________
Kernow Buoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.