Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 13 September 2010, 14:31   #1
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Smartcraft Speedo

Im trying to get my speedo to take the speed reading from the gps. Im pretty sure the wiring is correct but I cant manage to enter the calibration menu
(Cal 2 menu) on the Smartcraft speedo in order to enable the function. When I press and hold menu and + for ten seconds (as per manual) it will still only go to the quick Cal menu..

Anyone have any ideas??
Its the smartcraft speedo with the VDO in the bottom centre of the gauge.
__________________

__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2010, 11:58   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Dorset & Hants
Boat name: Streaker/Orange
Make: Avon/Ribcraft
Length: 4m +
Engine: 50Yam/25 Mariner
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,551
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waterman View Post
Im trying to get my speedo to take the speed reading from the gps. Im pretty sure the wiring is correct but I cant manage to enter the calibration menu
(Cal 2 menu) on the Smartcraft speedo in order to enable the function. When I press and hold menu and + for ten seconds (as per manual) it will still only go to the quick Cal menu..

Anyone have any ideas??
Its the smartcraft speedo with the VDO in the bottom centre of the gauge.
Can you get it into the Cal 1 menu ? the end of this is an option to get into Cal 2 ( I think..)

I think there may be more to it than just changing the setting ? Its all abit of dark art getting things to talk to each other properly ...
__________________

__________________
PeterM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 September 2010, 12:46   #3
Member
 
Waterman's Avatar
 
Country: Ireland
Boat name: Joy Ride
Make: Ribtec655CamelTrophy
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200 optimax
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 141
Thanks Peter,

No it just goes straight to the quick Cal mode regardless of how long the menu + buttons are held.

It should be just as simple as setting it to read speed from gps using nmea out from gps and not a paddle wheel?? Its not really talking, just listening.........

Its pretty annoying, dont really want to bring it into a merc dealer and pay them for pressing a few buttons...
Its running version 2.80 perhaps this needs updating??
__________________
Waterman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.