Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 04 May 2011, 03:20   #1
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Smartcraft fuel guage

Managed to buy one of these fuel guages cheap, do they just plug in or need mods to the loom? Can't seem to find much info from the usual sources.
Attached Images
 
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 15:31   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jizm View Post
Managed to buy one of these fuel guages cheap, do they just plug in or need mods to the loom? Can't seem to find much info from the usual sources.
Just need to plug it into the other gauges. But you do need the right boat harness that goes to the tank and engine. Also the Sender will need to be the right spec (US spec rather than european)
__________________

__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05 May 2011, 16:37   #3
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Gauges already in and wired up. LCD already shows fuel level and has been calibrated. This gauge just plugs in then as an aux display?
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2011, 11:20   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Make: Valiant
Length: 5m +
Engine: 75 Optimax
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 108
If your main gauges are already displaying fuel data then this will be plug and play.

The system link gauges just daisy chain off the smartcraft harness.
__________________
Damien. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07 May 2011, 12:15   #5
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
cheers for the info.
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 10:57   #6
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Just need to resurrect this thread....

Ok I don't have the right plugs with my gauges to plug this in so looks like I do need another loom?
Also If I have this gauge does it mean the tacho/speedo will no longer display fuel info?
Cheers
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 12:08   #7
RIBnet supporter
 
Trevor G's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Crowthorne
Boat name: Black Adder+BabyBlue
Make: Shearwater + Avon
Length: 8m +
Engine: TDi Diesel + Merc 60
MMSI: 235026679
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jizm View Post
Also If I have this gauge does it mean the tacho/speedo will no longer display fuel info?
Cheers
We've got the fuel gauge with our Verado, and the tacho and speed dials still show the fuel details as well as it being on the dedicated fuel gauge.
__________________
Trevor G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 14:41   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Looe
Make: Delta
Length: 4m +
Engine: Mercury
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,335
Have you got a smartcraft tacho?
__________________
Black Dog Marine
www.blackdogmarine.com
Turbodiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16 December 2012, 15:08   #9
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
Have you got a smartcraft tacho?
Yes, tacho and speedo.
Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22 December 2012, 05:19   #10
RIBnet supporter
 
Jizm's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: Hissing Sid
Make: Ross Smith Cobra
Length: 6m +
Engine: 200HP Optimax
MMSI: 235038046
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbodiesel View Post
Have you got a smartcraft tacho?
Should this be plug and play then turboD?
__________________

Jizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.