Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 April 2004, 09:47   #31
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
The cable will only be arund 18 inches long and since I have around 6 spare ways full of spare fuses then the one with the flylead will have no fuse in. The fuse will be moved over to make it live when needed, not because I am worried too much about corrosion but more the spare lead shorting out against something in there even with a cap on it.
An adaptor is what I will use as the cable is long enough to come out the console when disconected from the VHF. It is something I don't really expect ever to use but you never know, I like keeping my options open
__________________

__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30 April 2004, 05:40   #32
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
Silva now have S15 and S10's available got my replacment yesterday, will see if this one lasts
__________________

__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2004, 11:04   #33
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Oban
Boat name: RIB Tickle
Make: Humber Assault
Length: 5.3m
Engine: Yamaha 60ETO,Tohatsu 3.5
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 371
The S10 has a bug, shows "NO GPS" all the time, even when receiving a NMEA string with a valid position.
According to Silva it does work OK but the decimal places are only accepted to .00 rather than the .000 from most plotters/gps's.
Actually I am not sure I buy this explanation fully but it does seem to work in practice
__________________
http://www.argylldiving.btinternet.co.uk
Rupert Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2004, 15:52   #34
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Chesterfield
Boat name: Sea Quell
Make: Picton Cobra
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercury 150 4 Stroke
MMSI: 235038298
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert Bear
The S10 has a bug, shows "NO GPS" all the time, even when receiving a NMEA string with a valid position.
According to Silva it does work OK but the decimal places are only accepted to .00 rather than the .000 from most plotters/gps's.
Actually I am not sure I buy this explanation fully but it does seem to work in practice


A friend of mine had the same problem trying to interface his Garmin 152 to the S10 ( both new) .
I eventually sorted this out ( after plenty of swearing, rechecking wiring etc etc and wondering why when connecting my own 128 we had no problems) - as you say it is an issue with the output in more than 2 decimal places.
On the Garmin 152 you can change the position "precision" in the " "Advanced NMEA setup" facility. Changing the default "4 digits " to 2 worked fine and GPS position shows on the VHF screen. (Appendix H for those with the same combination/problem)
I am not sure whether this facility works or is needed with other GPS makes but worth a try.
I am not sure about Silvas claim that although the VHF indicates " no GPS" it WOULD send the position in distress mode ???!!
Hope this helps ?
Jeff
__________________
Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 May 2004, 17:34   #35
Member
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Isle of Skye
Boat name: Seafari - VHF CH 71
Make: Humbers+Catamaran
Length: 6m +
Engine: Volvo/Iveco/Suzuki
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 196
Angel of doom

Now have my 3rd set intalled, and to make things better the sun actually shone today when we were out, and onto the nice big clear digits on the readout -- what did the digits do -- bugger off, that what -- now have my 3rd non functioning set, that you cannot tell what it is doing, does not memory scan anymore, and goes to whatever channel it wants.

I will be sending it back for the final time, and will not be buying another -- 3 times gone wrong, always the same thing -- full refund wanted -- unless anyone wants a decent weight for fishing???

Pete
__________________
seafariskye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2004, 03:29   #36
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Quote:
Originally Posted by seafariskye
Now have my 3rd set intalled, and to make things better the sun actually shone today when we were out, and onto the nice big clear digits on the readout -- what did the digits do -- bugger off, that what -- now have my 3rd non functioning set, that you cannot tell what it is doing, does not memory scan anymore, and goes to whatever channel it wants.

I will be sending it back for the final time, and will not be buying another -- 3 times gone wrong, always the same thing -- full refund wanted -- unless anyone wants a decent weight for fishing???

Pete
Can I interest you in am Icom
Sorry had to say it.

Regards
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2004, 04:40   #37
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
He's got an Icom on the boat i sold him but to be fair that suffered from water ingress and had a 100 repair bill while i owned it.
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2004, 04:52   #38
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel
He's got an Icom on the boat i sold him but to be fair that suffered from water ingress and had a 100 repair bill while i owned it.
Is it an old one then?
M59?

Regards

Jon
__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2004, 04:55   #39
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Margate / Ramsgate
Boat name: Ballistic
Make: Ballistic
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yam HPDI 250
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 2,835
Yup. I take it they had a history of this?
__________________
Daniel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 May 2004, 04:56   #40
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: ramsgate
Boat name: Micki Dee Bee
Make: Ribcraft Seasafari
Length: 9m +
Engine: Twin 250hp Suzuki
MMSI: 235057235
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,622
Send a message via MSN to Jon Brooks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel
Yup. I take it they had a history of this?
No but was hoping it was an older one that let water rather than a new one!!!

Regards
__________________

__________________
Jon Brooks VSMM. Marine Mammal Medic, PBI, SRC Assessor,PWC Instructor.
www.horizonseasafaris.co.uk
Jon Brooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.