Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 July 2013, 09:42   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Boat name: Sheildu Two
Make: Brig Eagle 780
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki DF300
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Should I get a Radar?

Hi
Was just wondering whether a radar on a rib is really necessary as I was thinking of getting one!
Any thoughts would be helpfull
__________________

__________________
Ctrl+Alt+Delete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 10:00   #2
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ctrl+Alt+Delete View Post
Hi
Was just wondering whether a radar on a rib is really necessary as I was thinking of getting one!
Any thoughts would be helpfull
Simple answer, I don't know I have radar on BP, I can honestly say that I've never had to rely on it to get me out of the sh1t. It works to a point, picking up land masses, large vessels, beacons etc. Anything small in all but flat calm waters & you're struggling. If money is a consideration, IMHO AIS is better value, considering anything over 300t now must have it. Just worth mentioning that mine is traditional fry yer heed radar, not the new-fangled broadband/HD/Digital type, so I can't comment on those.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 10:18   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Mighty Penryn
Boat name: Little Joe.
Make: Avon Searider
Length: 4m +
Engine: Honda BF50
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ctrl+Alt+Delete View Post
Hi
Was just wondering whether a radar on a rib is really necessary as I was thinking of getting one!
Any thoughts would be helpfull
Are Bwig doing radar now?
__________________
Mollers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 10:33   #4
Member
 
Cypman's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Isle of Man
Town: Douglas
Length: no boat
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 337
If you haven't got AIS then I would install it in preference to a radar.
__________________
Cypman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 11:03   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Boat name: Sheildu Two
Make: Brig Eagle 780
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki DF300
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
I have AIS but its not that much help!
So thats why I was thinking of a Radar , shouldn't be too much effort as my raymarine stuff and boat is all capable and ready so now going to go ahead and get a radar
Thanks for your comment!
__________________
Ctrl+Alt+Delete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 11:20   #6
Trade member
 
Andre's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: West Sussex
Boat name: Grey Mist
Make: Parker 800 Baltic
Length: 8m +
Engine: 2xMercury Diesel 170
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 3,451
RIBase
Send a message via Skype™ to Andre
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ctrl+Alt+Delete View Post
I have AIS but its not that much help!
So thats why I was thinking of a Radar , shouldn't be too much effort as my raymarine stuff and boat is all capable and ready so now going to go ahead and get a radar
Thanks for your comment!
if you are seriously thinking of a radar then for a rib where the scanner will be low you should only consider the broadband type like 3G or 4G from Simrad or Lowrance. This subject has already been discussed so do a search
Andre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 11:45   #7
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Hampshire
Boat name: Sheildu Two
Make: Brig Eagle 780
Length: 7m +
Engine: Suzuki DF300
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 29
Thanks, will do that
Th wonky problem is that I have raymarine equipment installed on my boat
__________________
Ctrl+Alt+Delete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 12:18   #8
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,579
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ctrl+Alt+Delete View Post
Thanks, will do that
Th wonky problem is that I have raymarine equipment installed on my boat
Afaik the Raymarine HD system is their version of the new tech broadband radar.
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 12:46   #9
RIBnet admin team
 
Poly's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Boat name: imposter
Make: FunYak
Length: 3m +
Engine: 2 stroke YAM 20 HP
MMSI: 235089819
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10,112
Is the purpose of RADAR to help you see stuff that nobody else can? Because in that case the Admin team might need to invest in RADAR. I'm not sure what the RADAR signature of a troll would look like but I guess that SPAM should give a good reflection.
__________________
Poly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 July 2013, 12:50   #10
Member
 
HUMBER P4VWL's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: N Wales Chester
Boat name: Mr Smith
Make: Humber
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5,013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mollers View Post

Are Brig doing radar now?
Ouch. Are there no second chances on here?
__________________

__________________
HUMBER P4VWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.