Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 October 2010, 15:09   #11
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
The other plug on the back of the unit is for NMEA2000.

I'll have a look at the unit later and let you know how it's configured.
__________________

__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2010, 17:01   #12
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Ok, the NMEA connections are blue to blue and grey to brown, with the green to batt -ve.

In the Garmin menu system, under 'Communications', Serial Port 1 is set to 'NMEA Std', Serial Port 2 to 'None' : See pic

Working on through the menu, under 'Garmin', all 3 options are set to 'ON', again, see pic.

Hope this helps.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Garmin 551S 004 (Medium).jpg
Views:	161
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	54726   Click image for larger version

Name:	Garmin 551S 005 (Medium).jpg
Views:	128
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	54727  
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 October 2010, 19:18   #13
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Ok, the NMEA connections are blue to blue and grey to brown, with the green to batt -ve.

In the Garmin menu system, under 'Communications', Serial Port 1 is set to 'NMEA Std', Serial Port 2 to 'None' : See pic

Working on through the menu, under 'Garmin', all 3 options are set to 'ON', again, see pic.

Hope this helps.
cheers , i.v done the wireing wrong i put the blue to blue ,green to green and gray to gray i will try again tomorrow
__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2010, 13:59   #14
Member
 
hadd's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Manchester
Boat name: "mr Jingles"
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: 130 Etec
MMSI: 235074968
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,388
RIBase
Quote:
Originally Posted by Downhilldai View Post
Ok, the NMEA connections are blue to blue and grey to brown, with the green to batt -ve.

In the Garmin menu system, under 'Communications', Serial Port 1 is set to 'NMEA Std', Serial Port 2 to 'None' : See pic

Working on through the menu, under 'Garmin', all 3 options are set to 'ON', again, see pic.

Hope this helps.
Hi downhilldai, i just want to thank you for your help bud ,done it today all working fine. cheers
__________________
hadd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04 October 2010, 16:10   #15
Member
 
Country: UK - Wales
Town: West Wales
Make: Vipermax 5.8, SR4.7
Length: 5m +
Engine: 150 Opti, F50EFi
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,298
Quote:
Originally Posted by hadd View Post
Hi downhilldai, i just want to thank you for your help bud ,done it today all working fine. cheers
Good stuff
__________________

__________________
Downhilldai is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 16:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.