Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 03 August 2015, 09:37   #11
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Southampton
Boat name: SMH Rib / War Shot
Make: Ribtec / Scorpion
Length: 4m +
Engine: 10hp Yam / 150hp opt
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 1,894
RIBase
WEMA UK - Product Description
__________________

__________________
Searider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:09   #12
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 217
I am interested in this thread. I also have a 2005 RC585, new to me this season. It also has a completely useless fuel gauge, mainly reading between half and empty, even when topped off full. The gauge itself looks like original fit. From memory the sender under the consul looks like Happymug's photo.

Where can you get a spare sender from? Will WEMA sell you one direct?

Also if I read the RC specification correctly, it is fitted with a 40 gallon / 180 litre tank? Is this true? If so, it is humungous! Unless I am going across the Atlantic, I am not sure that ultra accurate knowledge of the fuel level is that important if you just keep the tank topped off every now and again.

Presumably for fuel flow meters we are talking big money?
__________________

__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:18   #13
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
i don't know about your tank, ribcraft can probably tell you from the serial number what was fitted as the boats are custom built.

my own boat is a 220l tank so i guess 180 is in line with my own to get similar ish range.

fuel senders-you have a few options, unfortunately getting accurate fuel info out a suzuki is tricky, not insurmountable though by any means as i've fixed my own if you do some searching on here.

what plotter do you have exactly on the boat?

failing that, SMIS is probably the way forward or the bluetooth phone one you can make which info is kicking about on- malebuffy

cheers
__________________
dubrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:40   #14
RIBnet supporter
 
Pikey Dave's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: South Yorks
Boat name: Black Pig
Make: Ribcraft
Length: 5m +
Engine: DF140a
MMSI: 235111389
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,596
RIBase
Forget trying to get any sensible level readings off a Ribcraft standard fuel gauge unless it's on a trailer on flat ground. As soon as the boat is on the water the fuel sender is at the high end of the tank, when you start to move, the fuel in the tank moves towards the stern & the readings become even more meaningless. The way to go is via nmea2000 if you have it, or calculation & paper fuel management if you don't. Don't waste your money by buying new tank senders etc. Saying that, I'm still trying to get my DF140 to give accurate readings over nmea2000, but that's another story.


.....sh1t happens.......
__________________
Rule#2: Never argue with an idiot. He'll drag you down to his level & then beat you with experience.
Rule#3: Tha' can't educate pork.
Rule#4: See rule#5
Pikey Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:40   #15
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Never had a problem with my Suzi digital Fuel/Flow gauges...spot on to the litre
You can also with the right sender/interface...display it on the later Garmin plotters,which may be a good option for some.
__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:42   #16
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pikey Dave View Post
Forget trying to get any sensible level readings off a Ribcraft standard fuel gauge unless it's on a trailer on flat ground. As soon as the boat is on the water the fuel sender is at the high end of the tank, when you start to move, the fuel in the tank moves towards the stern & the readings become even more meaningless. The way to go is via nmea2000 if you have it, or calculation & paper fuel management if you don't. Don't waste your money by buying new tank senders etc. Saying that, I'm still trying to get my DF140 to give accurate readings over nmea2000, but that's another story.


.....sh1t happens.......
I reckon I said that already
Only it's not just Ribcraft...believe me!
__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:48   #17
Member
 
A1an's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Fort William
Make: Humber Destroyer
Length: 5m +
Engine: Yamaha F80
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,239
RIBase
Ribcraft 585 fuel guage / sender problem?

I recently fitted the Suzuki fuel gauge I bought from yourself Matt, its night and day to the Quicksilver one I had, the needle on the suzuki gauge doesn't jump about when in the rough, its more like a cars' fuel gauge, very stable.

When I installed it I altered the float in the tank so when the gauge reads full the tank is actually full but when it reads empty I've got 15 litres of a buffer.

I've never run the tank low so I don't know how much of that 15 litres is actually useable.
__________________
There is a place on this planet for all of Gods creatures.........right next to my tatties and gravy.
A1an is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 13:49   #18
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
Never had a problem with my Suzi digital Fuel/Flow gauges...spot on to the litre
You can also with the right sender/interface...display it on the later Garmin plotters,which may be a good option for some.
when i first put all mine in it was reading over 20 gallons per hour at idle with v2.8 firmware on the SDIS connected to my garmin 551 and 751 plotters.

as the above engine is a 2005 that was a changeover year so a bit of playing will likely be required with the firmware versions...which you can ONLY update with either an SMIS or lowrance unit. i had to send my cable back to suzuki for an update and it is working fine now.

v2.3 firmware is still the most reliable for fuel readings but it didn't work with all the engines, they have expanded the ranges with later versions and the fuel readings went to pot as a result.

anyways, he may get lucky and it works out the bat...i'm just not that lucky.

cheers
__________________
dubrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 15:06   #19
Member
 
Bucksribster's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Thame
Make: Ribcraft 585
Length: 5m +
Engine: Suzuki 140
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 217
Thanks for the advice guys. The plotter is a Garmin 188C combined plotter / depth, which I think is original fit from 2005. It works the DSC OK, but as a plotter it is not great. I supplement it with a Nexus 7 running Navionics (see separate thread on this).

I have held off replacing the plotter as firstly it is a lot of dosh, and secondly I am not sure if I would have to replace the transducer which looks pretty built in!

Excuse my ignorance, but what exactly is involved in linking the Suzi to a plotter? Also I have no idea of the firmware version, but I do have the serial number etc.
__________________
Bucksribster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03 August 2015, 15:57   #20
Member
 
dubrus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Scotland
Town: Glasgow
Make: Ribcraft 6.8
Length: 6m +
Engine: Suzuki df200
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,089
that garmin will not work unfortunately, you will need another plotter if you wish the info on the actual plotter itself.

probably the cheapest way to get fuel flow is the bluetooth addon for the phone i linked earlier, bit more DIY but mucho cheapness and you can put it on your nexus 7. it won't link with your plotting software though if that bothers you. i.e you would need to swap apps to see fuel or plotter...not a biggy perhaps so long as the fuel app stays live in the background, that i don't know if it will.

it is important you check the shape of your SDIS plug, i would think it is round based on the age of your engine. if it is you need a reverse K8 adapter cable too.



so your options are-

buy this- Suzuki Outboard - 990C0-88164-KIT - 4 in. Multi-Function Gauge Kit

AND

Suzuki Outboard - 990C0-88141 - SIMS Reverse K8 Adapter

or you can buy any NMEA2000 compliant plotter (lowrance works best with suzuki, but not mega important you go that route) and just buy this and plug it into your outboard-

Suzuki Outboard - 990C0-88149 - SMIS Engine Interface Cable

AND

Suzuki Outboard - 990C0-88141 - SIMS Reverse K8 Adapter

AND you will also need an NMEA starter kit- Garmin Nmea 2000 Starter KIT Marine Navigation Equipment Boat Marine RV | eBay
.

or if you buy a garmin NME2000 plotter you can buy their own fuel flow system- NMEA 2000 Accessories: Garmin GFS10 Fuel Sensor NMEA 2000 (010-00671-00). if you go this route though you ONLY see fuel numbers, don't see RPM, trim, diags etc.

you can ofcourse plug the SMIS into the garmin if you wish but if you want to update firmware at any point you need to send it back to suzuki or ask your dealer if you can borrow an SMIS gauge.

the cable i have mentioned (http://www.brownspoint.com/store/pc/...e-38p67182.htm) MUST have the right firmware on it or you will get incorrect fuel readings, by far and large V2.9 is the most reliable with V2.3 just behind it, but it needs manual setting up so a bit of a pain. if you order it from your dealer tell them to make sure it comes with V2.9. even though mine asked for 2.9 it arrived with 2.8 which i knew wouldn't work...but i tried it for ghits and shiggles.....20 gallons per hour at idle as i said....ever so slightly out

cheers
__________________

__________________
dubrus is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
rib, ribcraft

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.