Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 11 September 2012, 17:32   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Lowestoft
Make: Novamarine
Length: 6m +
Engine: Yamaha 100 V4
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 15
Recommend GPS/Chartplotterbfor RIB

I will be fitting a GPS/ Chartplotter to my 6m RIB shortly. Can anyone make some recommendations please.
I will be using on coastal waters for leisure mostly.
__________________

__________________
castle519 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 September 2012, 17:54   #2
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
If you are buying new check out Garmin as their built in maps are great, when you mount it do it somewhere you can see it in all lights etc, flush mounting is best if you have the space

What is your price range?
__________________

__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11 September 2012, 19:04   #3
Member
 
ppenman's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wickford, Essex
Boat name: Wanderer
Make: Ribeye, Zodiac FR
Length: 7m +
Engine: Yamaha F300, 25 2S
MMSI: 235095667
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 219
I've got a Garmin 4008 which I'm very happy with. It's got a big screen which so far has remained visible in all lights and from a much greater viewing angle than my previous unit.
__________________
ppenman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 01:47   #4
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Sussex
Boat name: Aintree
Make: Redbay Stormforce
Length: 7m +
Engine: Twin 150's
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 255
Garmin 750 is great. Good size and can do everything. Quite a reasonable price too. Touch screen as well. Always forget that it doesn't do iPhone pinches for zoom otherwise great...
__________________
redthunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 02:02   #5
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: surrey
Length: 7m +
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 322
depends on how much you want to spend and what features you want. If you want a combined depth finder/ chart plotter check what is included in the original price, the ancillaries like transducers, ais modules and dsm or hd fish finding can all add up to probably more that the original price of the chart plotter. I like the garmin units but ended up with the Raymarine A57d which has AIS capability,fish finding, 3D as well as all the features i need, (probably more than i'll ever use to be honest) Long warrantee as well but in some ways i wish i had got the even larger screen, but great unit.
__________________
wellhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 02:05   #6
Member
 
Channel Ribs's Avatar
 
Country: UK - Channel Islands
Town: Alderney
Length: no boat
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,047
As said the Garmin 750 is great value with some deals at the moment making them available for around 600 pounds. They are networkable and have a large touchscreen.

If space is a bit tight then a 551 or 556, also from Garmin, are great. The latter has a higher resolution screen. They are about 400 pounds if you shop around.

Lowrance also make some very good value plotters, especially if you think you might want broadband radar or structurescan sonar at some point. Again around the 500 pounds mark.
__________________
Channel Ribs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 04:30   #7
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Another vote for The Garmin 720=750 Great unit with V-Fast access loads of features,and haveing used touch screen I would'nt think of anything else in the future.I understand from Hadd they've just dropped considerably in price too!
__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 07:12   #8
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Royal Wootton Bassett
Length: 8m +
Engine: 250
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8,020
If I were to upgrade to a Garmin 750 could I use my transducer from my Garmin 188c ?
__________________
whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 08:25   #9
Member
 
Maximus's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Wild West
Boat name: No Boat
Make: No Boat
Length: under 3m
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 4,272
Send a message via AIM to Maximus
Quote:
Originally Posted by whisper View Post
If I were to upgrade to a Garmin 750 could I use my transducer from my Garmin 188c ?
Not sure with that model Whisper....but some of the Later models ARE interchangeable..a quick call to Garmin will tell you though.
__________________
A clever Man learns by his mistakes..
A Wise Man learns by other people's!

The Road to HELL ..is Paved with "Good inventions!"
Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 September 2012, 11:57   #10
Member
 
Country: Ireland
Town: Castlebar
Boat name: Clewless
Make: Valiant DR 490
Length: 4m +
Engine: 60 hp ETEC
MMSI: Awaitng one
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,240
RIBase
I have the Garmin 550 which I purchased of Martin a few years ago. great unit and easy to use

TSM
__________________

__________________
two stroke mick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.