Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
 
Old 20 March 2013, 10:23   #1
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Winchester
Boat name: Raven
Make: Westerly 33/Avon 310
Length: 5m +
Engine: Mercedes 42 Toh9.8
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 266
Raytheon Expert Needed

Hi Guys
I wonder if anyone here can help me with a problem of connectivity.
My Family has a sailing boat which has a Raytheon RL9 Radar Monitor and Scanner on board, and in addition we also have a RL70RC radar and Chart-plotter from a different boat (but no scanner).
We would like to do away with the RL9 radar monitor already fitted to the boat and replace it with the RL70RC radar and chart-plotter combined.
Problem is Raymarine, the old Raytheon, say the old RL9 scanner up the mast has a different interface to the RL70RC monitor, can somebody here please help and advice whether the two can be paired and if so what do I need to get/do to make it all work. Another problem is that the boat is currently 200 miles away.
Thank you in anticipation of any advice.
Toby
__________________

__________________
Ribtecer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2013, 11:43   #2
Member
 
Ribshop's Avatar
 
Country: UK - England
Town: River Hamble
Length: 6m +
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ribtecer View Post
Hi Guys
I wonder if anyone here can help me with a problem of connectivity.
My Family has a sailing boat which has a Raytheon RL9 Radar Monitor and Scanner on board, and in addition we also have a RL70RC radar and Chart-plotter from a different boat (but no scanner).
We would like to do away with the RL9 radar monitor already fitted to the boat and replace it with the RL70RC radar and chart-plotter combined.
Problem is Raymarine, the old Raytheon, say the old RL9 scanner up the mast has a different interface to the RL70RC monitor, can somebody here please help and advice whether the two can be paired and if so what do I need to get/do to make it all work. Another problem is that the boat is currently 200 miles away.
Thank you in anticipation of any advice.
Toby
Itís been a while since I worked on these but I think you will find the dome and cable are completely different. The RL70 used the newer pathfinder dome so I think the whole lot will need to be replaced.
__________________

__________________
RIB REPAIRS | RE-TUBES | RE-FIT - OUTBOARD SERVICING - ONLINE SHOP FOR RIB & TOHATSU PARTS .
Phone: 01489 556800 www.rib-shop.com
Ribshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 March 2013, 12:49   #3
Member
 
Country: UK - England
Town: Poole
Boat name: Exodus
Make: Tohatsu
Length: 7m +
Engine: Evinrude 150
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 275
The radomes have been through at least four evolutions in the last ten years and almost without exception are not backward or forward compatible. Best man I know to talk to us Andy Chisnall at Raymarine in Fareham. What he doesn't know isn't worth knowing.
Some of the late pathfinder domes did work with the C&E classic displays but before that there was a change in cables and interface.
Sadly I think you'll have to upgrade both.
__________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former --- Albert Einstein
Into The Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.